Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-20-2019, 11:39 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
... In the clips list, click on "show full disk path" or something like that in the drop down menu list at the top. This will show you where PT thinks the files should be ...
+1. I always use "show full path". Anytime I open up the clip list, I want to know exactly where the file is located. Also, it's a great way to make sure everything is stored where you think it's supposed to be.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-20-2019, 05:14 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,327
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
Thanks, Albee (curious about the "1952" ... could we possibly have that in common?)

Furthermore—while we're on the subject of Pro Tools misappropriating the English language—you know that thing we do where we record the artist for a short segment of time, creating a clip? That's called a Take, not a Playlist.
It's called the playlist because when it is enabled it gives you access to multiple takes in the same time line to be able to choose which part of each takes are best and then "splice" (comp) it together into the main track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post

These are only a couple of the many things convincing me that no one authoring the Pro Tools software has ever spent time in an actual studio.
A lot of people working at avid are actual musicians and have spent time in studios. I would personally try to refrain from making such assumptions when you don't know the people. As my dearie wife says, making assumptions makes an ass of you and me.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-21-2019, 06:39 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,937
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
As for the bit about copying my own template folder: I have a folder that has all the various tracks & sub/aux tracks that I find to be common across any project I start. No clips, just tracks and track assignments setup. When I start a new project, I copy that folder, named Record Template, give the folder and PTX file a new name, and get busy.

As suggested earlier, here lies your problem. This procedure results in a PTX file that writes all its audio to the audio files folder in the folder inside the templates folder.


You must open the template, "save session copy…", close template, and open newly created.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-21-2019, 06:55 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

I’ve discovered the source of the problem. Coming up with a solution is going top be tricky, though, because it involves finding a workaround for a behavior so bizarre, a person would have to intentionally, purposefully author a software to include something this astoundingly stupid.

The image I attached shows yet another project with missing session clips. Like almost all the others, the missing clips have mirrored, counterpart clips that weren’t deleted. By “mirrored,” I mean these guitar tracks are recorded as both mic and DI tracks—two tracks—simultaneously. Only one of the two-track pairs is missing, though. That’s because Pro Tools has been randomly saving some clips to the Audio Files folder in the actual project folder, and others to another, foreign Audio Files folder, nested inside a Pro Tools Projects folder it created on my root directory.

I came across that isolated, root level Pro Tools Projects folder last week, knew it shouldn’t by any reason be there, and assumed it was a remnant of some recent restructuring I had done on my file system. I did a system search on a few of the files, found them to be duplicates, and felt comfortable deleting the folder, since there was no PTX file associated with it. That folder, however, was holding all those clips that have been coming up missing in projects, projects also showing an Audio Files folder within project folder, with other audio files in them. Just this morning I found another, newly generated, root-level Pro Tools Projects, with more random audio files in the Audio Files folder, and made the connection to this problem.

I know there’s a feature in PT called “Round Robin”, where, “Pro Tools will automatically distribute any newly created tracks around all of the drives connected to your system...”. Whoever the complete idiot was who thought that was a good idea—separating audio files from the project folder and scattering them far & wide throughout the system—I have never heard a more concise definition of Recipe for Disaster. That disaster has happened to my files. But get this: Round Robin is not and has never been activated either globally or project specifically in my system. So how does this happen?

The bottom line question is: how does a person safeguard his projects from a software that seems designed to to seek out and destroy the very projects it’s being used to create?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 6.48.15 AM.jpg (30.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-21-2019, 09:48 AM
kelsey's Avatar
kelsey kelsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 220
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

This sounds to me like another problem brought over from the way you are creating your sessions by copying an existing session and renaming it. This is the whole reason the save as template exists, and so far it sounds like creating a sessions template, then opening pro tools, creating a new session from template will get you everything you want (track names, auxes, routing, etc) but will also update disk allocation settings and other details specific to each project that you are not updating when you copy and open up an existing project. The session template feature is really worth your time to explore more.

Open your blank session you are using as a template and check the Disk Allocation settings, then also open a project missing clips and check the Disk Allocation setting there too.

Pro Tools will create a "Default" Audio Files folder in your home folder if it cannot write to the Audio Files folder set in the Disk Allocation setting. There can be several reasons for this happening, including a drive being seen as read only when a session opens. I wouldn't jump to the conclusion so fast that Pro Tools isn't operating correctly, there is probably something else causing the behavior. While you may not have a use for Round Robin, it's not an idiotic feature, but with SSD's and faster drives there is less need for it these days.
__________________
http://wanderingear.net
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-22-2019, 08:03 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,604
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
...a behavior so bizarre, a person would have to intentionally, purposefully author a software to include something this astoundingly stupid.
....The bottom line question is: how does a person safeguard his projects from a software that seems designed to to seek out and destroy the very projects it’s being used to create?

I think in my post on the first page I recommended you take a look at your Disk Allocation. If you must use the workflow you're suggesting (which is definitely not recommended), then you *absolutely* will have to religiously check Disk Allocation every time you start a new session.

While there are things I'd love to change about ProTools, in the 20+ years I've been using this software I've never (knock wood) lost an audio file or project. Certainly there are tens of thousands of us using this software every day in mission critical applications who do not have these issues. I'd suggest you get a handle on disk allocation.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 02-22-2019 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-22-2019, 09:08 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 787
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

User error. Like I suspected. Well maybe not pure user error. But the session setup has some potential for stuff like this.

Have you tried a new record drive to rule out disk hardware error?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Last edited by arche3; 02-22-2019 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-24-2019, 11:06 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 623
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

If you want a solution, learn to use the import session data function AFTER you create a new session for each of your projects. Shft+cmd+I.

This way you can import all the tracks, names etc without also importing the settings of where the audio files are stored or the audio from the other session.

If you were to read the manual, you would that all of this is fully covered.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-24-2019, 12:35 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,016
Default Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
I’ve discovered the source of the problem. Coming up with a solution is going top be tricky, though, because it involves finding a workaround for a behavior so bizarre, a person would have to intentionally, purposefully author a software to include something this astoundingly stupid.



The image I attached shows yet another project with missing session clips. Like almost all the others, the missing clips have mirrored, counterpart clips that weren’t deleted. By “mirrored,” I mean these guitar tracks are recorded as both mic and DI tracks—two tracks—simultaneously. Only one of the two-track pairs is missing, though. That’s because Pro Tools has been randomly saving some clips to the Audio Files folder in the actual project folder, and others to another, foreign Audio Files folder, nested inside a Pro Tools Projects folder it created on my root directory.



I came across that isolated, root level Pro Tools Projects folder last week, knew it shouldn’t by any reason be there, and assumed it was a remnant of some recent restructuring I had done on my file system. I did a system search on a few of the files, found them to be duplicates, and felt comfortable deleting the folder, since there was no PTX file associated with it. That folder, however, was holding all those clips that have been coming up missing in projects, projects also showing an Audio Files folder within project folder, with other audio files in them. Just this morning I found another, newly generated, root-level Pro Tools Projects, with more random audio files in the Audio Files folder, and made the connection to this problem.



I know there’s a feature in PT called “Round Robin”, where, “Pro Tools will automatically distribute any newly created tracks around all of the drives connected to your system...”. Whoever the complete idiot was who thought that was a good idea—separating audio files from the project folder and scattering them far & wide throughout the system—I have never heard a more concise definition of Recipe for Disaster. That disaster has happened to my files. But get this: Round Robin is not and has never been activated either globally or project specifically in my system. So how does this happen?



The bottom line question is: how does a person safeguard his projects from a software that seems designed to to seek out and destroy the very projects it’s being used to create?


Don’t assume that you can perform functions with pro tools sessions in Explorer or the Finder and it not have an affect on how pro tools relates to those sessions.

Create a session on drive A. Record many tracks and save. Copy session folder to drive B. Open session on drive B and record many more tracks. Those tracks will be put in the audio files folder on drive A if the original session paths are still valid. If you delete the session from drive A before opening it on drive B, Pro Tools will update the file locations when opening the session on drive B.

That’s how Pro Tools works and that’s why some of your files were being put in a place other than the session folder of the session you had open. Copying and renaming a session still leaves the original paths intact. If you want to manage media locations, it’s best to be done in Pro Tools, not outside of it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-25-2019, 06:18 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Pro-Tools Sabotaging My Projects!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Money's here ^
Is round robin still a thing? Ew.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing fade files, missing audio in resaved sesssions drygruo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-14-2010 04:56 PM
All Sessions using SDII files are missing all audio files and won't relink bigmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-18-2009 12:54 PM
missing audio files are actually not missing tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-24-2006 02:25 PM
Fade Files as Audio Files in "Missing Audio" ?? CCash Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-18-2005 09:00 AM
Missing Fade files become missing audio files? Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-21-2004 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com