Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-01-2015, 11:22 AM
roboman01 roboman01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wauchula
Posts: 151
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

Best thing to do is stay at Yosemite for now even though we all know El Capitan makes Yosemite feel like crap. I would be on Mavericks but my GTX 750 TI won't work in Mavericks. Snow Leopard and Mavericks IMO are the two best Apple has ever released.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2015, 02:57 PM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

I am stunned as well that it is taking so long. Almost every other company is already on board - Avid seems to always hate anything that came out of Digidesign - It is as if AVID intentionally wants all traces of their involvement in hardware to be a distant memory. I don't think AVID will be happy until every hardware unit has been tossed away - and not hurrying to support the MBox is a big step forward in this goal.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2015, 09:29 PM
Jakay Jakay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 145
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

There's support for MBox pro on El Capitan now, just not the regular one (like I have) unfortunately. But whatever, it doesn't help that Apple releases a new OS version every ten minutes.
__________________
Half in my head, half out of my mind - jakay.ca
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-08-2015, 09:37 AM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

Why would there be support for the MBox3Pro and not the MB3? How much extra work could there be to get this done? Did the programmer go to lunch and forget what he was working on? You'd think it would take about an extra 20 minutes of coding to finish the project.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-08-2015, 09:54 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

The Mbox 3 Pro is a Firewire device, the Mbox 3 is USB. They are completely separate drivers. I'm not sure what had/has to be done to get drivers to be compatible with El Capitan, but either there was less work to be done with the Pro, or it was higher priority.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:37 AM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

Thanks, Joel. I may head to EBay to check prices on the Pro - I'd prefer ] to buy an Apollo Twin or 8 but they are pretty pricey. I have been disappointed with my MBox3 because it has mechanical flaws - like an extreme jump in volume on one of the Gain pots (many have reported this). There are other things - like uneven output from the speaker plugs on the back - - - - I don't know.

But - I had missed the fact the the 3Pro is Firewire.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-08-2015, 11:54 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

The reason why the Mbox Pro is qualified and Mbox 3 is not is because of USB Compliant compatibility issues with El Capitan. This has been a know issue with some USB devices aside from Avid. I believe Apple is aware and I would guess that Avid is waiting for Apple to aid in the bug fix with a 10.11.2 release. Just a wild guess but I would agree that Avid is taking a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-08-2015, 11:57 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
The Mbox 3 Pro is a Firewire device, the Mbox 3 is USB. They are completely separate drivers. I'm not sure what had/has to be done to get drivers to be compatible with El Capitan, but either there was less work to be done with the Pro, or it was higher priority.

Joel
There is general USB incompatibility with USB devices in El Capitan. The Mbox Pro driver wasn't even updated. Avid saw that it worked with the latest driver on the site and because it is a FireWire device it does not experience the same issues as USB devices
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

I prefer believing that Apple is the problem. And what I have just read could make sense.Still, Apple has had some updates sine the original release of El Capitan in September. You would think that a USB compatibility problems would have been a HUGE issue for Apple.
But we are due for another update on the OS X soon - I really hope this solves the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-08-2015, 10:17 PM
hoss33 hoss33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 468
Default Re: Why avid has no news about EI Capitan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ormond View Post
I prefer believing that Apple is the problem. And what I have just read could make sense.Still, Apple has had some updates sine the original release of El Capitan in September. You would think that a USB compatibility problems would have been a HUGE issue for Apple.
But we are due for another update on the OS X soon - I really hope this solves the problem.
10.11.2 is out
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
El Capitan is Avid's big test DarkandKurious Pro Tools 12 19 10-08-2015 03:46 PM
Avid Master Account and Customer Portal News Bruce Paine General Announcements 0 06-14-2013 02:58 PM
How did today's Avid business news affect the Eleven Rack, if at all? TieDyedDevil Eleven Rack 60 07-08-2012 07:14 PM
Good News and Bad News....original Mbox & Pt Le 6.4 captain54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-02-2007 10:52 PM
AVID Stock Up 15% on Good News Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 07-22-2003 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com