Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2013, 06:48 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,481
Default Any suggestion? control 24 meters dead in PT work in Vegas mode

Hi,

Ive just sold a control 24. was all working perfect when i demo'd it to the person who collected it.

Now they say the meters are not working when running sessions. but all is working fine in vegas test mode

Ive been through everything i can think of to check, pre fader, post fader, input level check, reset the control 24. different ethernet cable and so on.

but all i can think now is a connector has come off during transit! I doubt anything component wise would fail during transport.

I think they are using LE but not totally sure yet.

anything i could have missed?

any idea which cable/connector might be the problem.

UPDATE! Seems the buyer has a 003 control surface as an interface which is causing the problem!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.

Last edited by crizdee; 03-29-2013 at 06:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2013, 03:29 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 571
Default Re: Any suggestion? control 24 meters dead in PT work in Vegas mode

I do not have a Control 24 but I do have a ProControl. With a ProControl comes a special loopback Ethernet connector, you can use this to test the build-in Ethernet connector, there are test routines for that in the Utility pages. Maybe you can do the same with a Control 24? Do you remember having such a loopback Ethernet connector?

Some other things to check:

- does Pro Tools recognise the Control 24 and is it selectable in the Ethernet window?

- is there an Ethernet hub involved and are they using the correct cables (only patch cables, no crossover cables)?

All the communication between PT and Control 24 happens by Ethernet, so it must be an Ethernet problem. I doubt very much that an internal connector has come off during transport, because Vegas Mode also needs a perfect working machine. If the meters work in Vegas Mode, all the internal print connectors are fine. Maybe the Ethernet port on the Mac/PC is broken?
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control 24 faders not moving in vegas mode? please help primomusic ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 11-05-2013 09:02 PM
Vegas Mode please Craig F System 5 5 05-17-2010 01:44 PM
vegas mode stopped working on D-Control tomcat ICON & C|24 3 11-01-2007 11:15 PM
WTF is Vegas Mode ?? Bob Legs ICON & C|24 5 01-20-2007 07:19 AM
WTF is Vegas Mode ?? Bob Legs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-08-2006 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com