Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:33 PM
Fred Cannons Fred Cannons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 64
Default Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

I am having terrible problems running my expansion chassis! Anybody out there having problems with same?
G5 Dual 2.7 Ghz Power PC with 2.5gb RAM running 10.4.8 OS
Core card, Accell card and 2 Process cards

After over night cool down system powers up fine and alll is good. Then after some time (too variable to mention) there will be some sort of error. ie: "lost communication with Sync i/o" or Pro Tools will decide to loop half a bar of music and will continue this even after quitting PT and shutting down the G5. Then on re-start I get message "Unable to communicate with hardware etc etc"

Anyone experiencing this?

I have tried 2 chassis and 2 ethernet cards (Digi) and 2 Cat 6 cables

We are all stumped here .......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:57 PM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 363
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

Have/can you run digitest? What are the results?
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro (Mid 2010)
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
Blue 192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 5 Accel, PT 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2006, 06:51 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

what version are you running?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2006, 07:56 PM
Fred Cannons Fred Cannons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 64
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

I am running PT 7.2 cs 2
Have not done Digi test. I have been in communication with Digi techs and they have not mentioned that. I may try that tomorrow.
thanks-Fred
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2006, 08:56 PM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

Definitely run a Digitest, I am running a G5 Dual 2.7 myself with an HD|Expansion Chassis, no problems here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:50 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

Fred,
Go to 7.3 . It will solve your problems. I had similar problems with 7.2, but when I went to 7.3 and the problems with the chassis went away.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:19 AM
Fred Cannons Fred Cannons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 64
Default Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems

Really - interesting. That is an easy fix - if it works. I will try that today - thanks for the tip Doc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign Expansion Chassis Philee Digidesign Hardware & Software 10 10-06-2010 11:15 AM
Digidesign PCIe expansion chassis problems derF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-23-2009 04:48 PM
Digidesign Expansion HD Chassis and PT8 help!!!!! akmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-10-2009 07:28 PM
Anyone using the Digidesign Expansion|HD chassis? MDog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 03-19-2007 08:58 PM
Digidesign Expansion|HD Expansion Chassis work ok? Will Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-25-2006 02:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com