Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-31-2005, 04:55 PM

Default BOUNCE!

Sorry if this is a topic that comes up often...

I'm fairly new to Pro Tools. I'm using PT LE 6.9 with an MBox on OSX Tiger. I've mixed a song (using AKG 240s) and I'm very happy with the turnout. I then bounce the song to disk, and when I play back the song as a .wav from my hard drive, it sounds horrible. I understand the fact that the mix won't sound the same from one set of speakers to another, but when I listened to the .wav file I used the SAME headphones I used to mix the song. Also, I opened a new PT session, then imported the .wav file into PT. Everything sounded great again. So does anyone know what's going on? Any help would be much appreciated.

btw, my bounce settings are as follows:

Stereo Interleaved
16 bit
44.1 kHZ
Old 07-31-2005, 05:14 PM

Default Re: BOUNCE!

1- Did you record at 24 or 16bit?
2- Did you use a Dither plugin on the Master Fader?

Bounces should sound exactly as they did during the session.
Old 07-31-2005, 05:59 PM

Yes I used a dither. I can't quite remember what the recording bit was. If it were 24 bit, would the sound be affected because I bounced it at 16 bit?
Old 07-31-2005, 11:35 PM