Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2005, 01:48 PM
alance alance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 160
Default new region while in record?

Any keyboard shortcut that will allow me to deliniate different regions while not coming out of record? I do location recording and frequently they will say "going again, keep it rolling" but I want to give it a new take number. I've been having to go back, split regions and then rename them. If it's in the lit. I've missed it. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2005, 09:53 AM
alance alance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 160
Default Re: new region while in record?

bump? No genius for me today?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:52 AM
sonikbliss sonikbliss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Directly beneath the sun
Posts: 123
Default Re: new region while in record?

if you're doing several takes of the same thing you can use Loop Record and it will create a new region everytime the loop begins again. Maybe quickpunch, I know it takes you out of record but if you puch out & in real quick you'll get seperate regions. Otherwise just drop markers as you go so you can tell where the regions should begin.
__________________
Rock 'n Roll saved my soul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:33 PM
Sevenlights Sevenlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 78
Default Re: new region while in record?

I think the safest way to go is using Markers to number the takes. Then chop the regions after.
__________________
Scott Cooke.
Mountain View Records
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2005, 12:50 AM
rigboone rigboone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Louisville,KY USA
Posts: 101
Default Re: new region while in record?

What I would do is, in preferences, select "insertion follows playback". That keeps the cursor/insertion point parked where you stop instead of jumping to the head of the session. Then, you'll just have to be quick on the trigger to jump out and back in to record fast. Command-spacebar will throw you into record very quickly, spacebar stops. What I would want in your scenario is not region names, but actual FILE names, and the only way to make a new file is to stop and start recording(without going back later and manipulating the regions destructively). If you do it properly, this method will even give you take numbers that reflect the actual take number, not regions that you have to rename and keep track of. And markers are only good until you start moving regions on the timeline. This makes for a more manageable project later-you won't have 1 big file that you have to root around in to find the first verse of take 17 and the bridge of take 8. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
undo'd record still in region bin?? dopplah Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 10-11-2010 08:55 AM
How To: Record Starts New Region DaveYaffe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-22-2010 07:23 PM
Loop record and region naming kalab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-20-2007 10:49 PM
PT will not keep record region jack88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2004 02:58 AM
Preference for Record Region draw? yoyomama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-01-2003 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com