Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:58 AM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

I'm working on a film's audio in LE (using DV toolkit). There is digital distortion throughout the audio track. Is there any way to remove this distortion, or is it too late? (I have the Waves Diamond bundle, McDSP Analog channel, and BNR.)
Thanks
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:42 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

This may sound like a strange fix, but it should work:
Run your source through several different reverbs (very short duration at 100% mix) and pick the one that works.
It will take a lot of tweeking, but you will be able to clean things up.

I would also recommend a D/A ==>> to A/D step since dithering could bring back noticable distortion.

It will surely color your source, but I think that is the intent at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2005, 01:00 PM
Sevenlights Sevenlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 78
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

or if you have the diamond bundle it has a digtal clip remover that works well with tweaking. I don't see how that reverb trick would work, could you explain the theory behind that one? Seems like it would be used to sort of smear over trouble spots.
__________________
Scott Cooke.
Mountain View Records
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:58 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

Quote:
... Seems like it would be used to sort of smear over trouble spots.
I couldn't have described it any better than that
I am assuming, of course, that there is dialog and other non-audiophile critical material that is going into the film. Sidechaining a specific frequency range would limit the 'smearing' effect as well.

As for clip remover, I didn't read the original post as suggesting it is clipping digitally, just badly processed source data. This could have been caused by a multitude of processes and likely seriously compressed, and probably recompressed, source audio in an MP2 format or something drastic like that.

Posting a audio snip-it for others to play with might get more input
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2005, 09:01 AM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

Thanks.
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2005, 09:07 AM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

The film is of a live band performance. It was done on a great DV camera, but the sound source went directly into the camera's mic, so any time the band plays, the entire audio source is clipped. (The waveform looks like a solid bar.) I've tried using the Gain plug-in in Audiosuite, and have lowered the gain by as much as 10 percent, but I still hear clipping. Do you think I could reduce the clipping by redrawing the entire waveform with the pencil tool?
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:30 AM
Sevenlights Sevenlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 78
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

if it's clipped that bad you may be kinda screwed. Cause that's probably the diaphram of the little mic getting hammered. The clipping is recorded right to the source, lowering the gain won't really do anything.
__________________
Scott Cooke.
Mountain View Records
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:29 PM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

Thanks again.
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:07 PM
ggunn ggunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 235
Default Re: Is it possible to remove digital distortion?

Quote:
...Do you think I could reduce the clipping by redrawing the entire waveform with the pencil tool?
Thassa joke, innit?
__________________
Gordon in Austin
Mac G4 Digital Audio 466MHz
MacOS 9.2, 1.25GB RAM, 110GB HD
digi 001, PT LE 5.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd digital distortion SoundtrackArcade Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 09-11-2012 01:51 AM
Digital distortion STUDIO A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-18-2004 06:00 AM
Digital Distortion with 001 Nick Rogers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2004 12:09 AM
PT 6 OSX - Digital Distortion Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-14-2003 12:38 PM
888 digital distortion???? PastaViking II Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-07-2002 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com