Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2020, 03:58 PM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 156
Default Sustain messages when recording

Hi,

I'm using Kontakt - Alicias Keys on an instrument track with a Novation Impulse 49 + sustain pedal.

When not recording, sustain pedal works fine.

When I hit record, the sustain pedal stops working, and the instrument track sustain stays 'on hold' - no matter how often I press the sustain down and up, it doesn't work - the sustain message just stays on.

Im running latest version of PT.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Last edited by Samba; 07-12-2020 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2020, 04:57 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,290
Default Re: Sustain messages when recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Hi,

I'm using Kontakt - Alicias Keys on an instrument track with a Novation Impulse 49 + sustain pedal.

When not recording, sustain pedal works fine.

When I hit record, the sustain pedal stops working, and the instrument track sustain stays 'on hold' - no matter how often I press the sustain down and up, it doesn't work - the sustain message just stays on.

Im running latest version of PT.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

That's an interesting one. As simple as this may sound, did you try just turning the Novation off and back on? Or, unplug the sustain pedal and plug it back in? I've had similar issues in the past, and just rebooting the controller and/or unpluggin the pedal and replugging it seemed to solve it. Of course, you'll need to exit PT first, then do the reboot on the Novation, and then reboot PT.



If you've tried all that, or try it and it doesn't solve the problem, then I'm not sure where to look next. Its odd the sustain would work when just playing but then go bonkers when trying to record on the same track with the same VI. Good luck.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2020, 04:57 AM
Samba Samba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 156
Default Re: Sustain messages when recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
That's an interesting one. As simple as this may sound, did you try just turning the Novation off and back on? Or, unplug the sustain pedal and plug it back in? I've had similar issues in the past, and just rebooting the controller and/or unpluggin the pedal and replugging it seemed to solve it. Of course, you'll need to exit PT first, then do the reboot on the Novation, and then reboot PT.



If you've tried all that, or try it and it doesn't solve the problem, then I'm not sure where to look next. Its odd the sustain would work when just playing but then go bonkers when trying to record on the same track with the same VI. Good luck.
Hi Donald, yep tried everything. It's happening intermittently. Today I have a different issue that has also been happening intermittently -

My instrument track sometimes does not recognise my sustain message - The sustain message is visible in the instrument track, but pro tools is ignoring it!
Pro tools & midi = weird
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2020, 08:04 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,290
Default Re: Sustain messages when recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Hi Donald, yep tried everything. It's happening intermittently. Today I have a different issue that has also been happening intermittently -

My instrument track sometimes does not recognise my sustain message - The sustain message is visible in the instrument track, but pro tools is ignoring it!
Pro tools & midi = weird

I got nothing! Sorry! Not sure where you could even begin to troubleshoot this one. Might let Avid know. Could be some kind of bug with using Novation or something. I have no idea!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sustain NOT recording in pro tools 9!!! geoffvernon Pro Tools 9 7 03-29-2014 04:38 PM
PT 11 Sustain Problem while recording Connor macOS 9 12-25-2013 11:03 AM
Double notes when recording w. sustain? Sandager 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-07-2007 01:09 AM
midi sustain pedal messages bug dmuckala Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 34 09-11-2007 10:32 PM
Sustain Pedal in Midi recording in PT LE Arya44 Tips & Tricks 1 11-09-2003 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com