Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2017, 03:47 PM
StiffMittens's Avatar
StiffMittens StiffMittens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 6
Default error 20700 while translating tracks

I've seen several threads (on this site and others) relating to this issue, but so far none of the advice I've tried from those threads helps.

A session file which had previously behaved normally, I am suddenly getting this error when saving:

"Could not save as [session name] because (20700) while translating Tracks."

There is also a similar error when auto-backup tries to save a copy.

I have tried: trashing preferences, disabling plugins, going back to an earlier version, checking disk permissions and file system integrity.

Does anybody actually know what the error number 20700 refers to? Maybe if I knew what specifically the error is, I could figure out a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2017, 07:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: error 20700 while translating tracks

Hmmm, never seen this one I do have 2 suggestions for you to try;
1-Create a new blank session at a different sample rate(IOW, if the messed up session is at 44.1k, make the new session 48k, or vice versa). Now Use the Import Session Data command and check the box to use SRC(Sample Rate Conversion). This will re-write all the audio files and MIGHT give you a working session.
2-Hold the SHIFT key while opening the session. This will make all plugins inactive(no settings are lost). If this allows the session to open and be saved again(I would go to File>Save As>rename to something like "songname_noplugins"). If this works, you may have a corrupt plugin(likely a 3rd party plugin and not any stock stuff). Activate a batch of plugins and see if the problem comes back
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2017, 07:25 PM
rhardy11 rhardy11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canton
Posts: 2
Default Re: error 20700 while translating tracks

I was in the middle of editing when this exact same thing happened to me. I saved a few times previously without any issue. I got an error related to auto-backup and now I can't save at all. Maybe corruption? Does anyone have a suggestion that might allow me to save without losing all my edits? Obviously, I could re-boot, etc. and hope it goes away, but my progress would be lost. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2017, 06:16 AM
JulianMartin JulianMartin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: France
Posts: 13
Default Re: error 20700 while translating tracks

Just faced the same problem !

It is because of a plugin, Accusonics Happy Placer.
This was an April's fool, it is a plugin which displays jokes about musicians...

But the error because of it is not a joke...
I made all the plugins inactive, and figured out it was because of this one.

I removed it, and I was able to save again ! Hourra !

Tell us if your problem is because of another plugin !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2017, 08:33 AM
StiffMittens's Avatar
StiffMittens StiffMittens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 6
Default Re: error 20700 while translating tracks

This turned out to be a plugin for me also. To anybody else having this problem it seems your first troubleshooting stop should be to disable all plugins. If the problem goes away, then starting re-enabling plugins until the problem returns. Then get rid of the last plugin you enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2018, 02:20 PM
ocwolf68 ocwolf68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ystad, Sweden
Posts: 2
Default Re: error 20700 while translating tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Hmmm, never seen this one I do have 2 suggestions for you to try;
1-Create a new blank session at a different sample rate(IOW, if the messed up session is at 44.1k, make the new session 48k, or vice versa). Now Use the Import Session Data command and check the box to use SRC(Sample Rate Conversion). This will re-write all the audio files and MIGHT give you a working session.
2-Hold the SHIFT key while opening the session. This will make all plugins inactive(no settings are lost). If this allows the session to open and be saved again(I would go to File>Save As>rename to something like "songname_noplugins"). If this works, you may have a corrupt plugin(likely a 3rd party plugin and not any stock stuff). Activate a batch of plugins and see if the problem comes back
As I cant save my current project this is no solution. I cant save what I did the last hour or so because of this...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could Not Complete While Translating Tracks tromixedthat Pro Tools 12 0 11-24-2016 10:13 AM
Auto UPdate Error (20700) lost 18 minutes of work john1192 Pro Tools 12 0 06-13-2016 03:06 PM
20700 error Idealmusic Pro Tools 12 1 04-03-2016 05:45 AM
Could not complete open session because error translating tracks spiritfallrecording Pro Tools 10 3 01-21-2014 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com