Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-10-2017, 08:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

The new SSD upgrade I ordered for my iTrashcan requires High Sierra for some reason... So I for one am waiting for support
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-10-2017, 09:31 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,680
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
The new SSD upgrade I ordered for my iTrashcan requires High Sierra for some reason... So I for one am waiting for support
ooh .. thats weird to say the least .. an SSD (PCIe flash i assume) needs a certain MacOS !!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-10-2017, 10:23 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlavin00 View Post
You had no problems with Pro Tools on HS?
Running 12.8.1 with High Sierra 10.13.1 with no issue. I rolled back to 12.8.1 because of 12.8.2's lag, which has nothing to do with High Sierra.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-10-2017, 10:36 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Just a FYI of caution, HS requires a Firmware upgrade for some Macs (2010 silver Mac Pro did)
Time allotment is needed to sort out new issues/enhancements uncommon to older OS's.

Also:
MacOS 10.12.6 will not recognize 10.13 drives so booting will be holding option key-selecting or via terminal.

Turning on and off SIP needs to be in your comfort and time wheelhouse.

MacOS 10.13. and Pro Tools HD12.8.2 Have been good in most cases.
3rd party, core audio, MIDI connections seem unhampered BUT

Be prepared to reboot and reset somethings like screen layout and bluetooth paring going between the two latest MAC OS.

Mac OS 10.12.6 to HS-OS 10.13 is not the usual OS change.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-10-2017, 10:58 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlavin00 View Post
You had no problems with Pro Tools on HS?
Some, But I’d say I get about 25% less errors on HS
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-10-2017, 12:41 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Agree.
Perfomance is better here as well.

The Lag seems to improve (Cache?) over a few days time.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----

Last edited by DetroitT; 11-10-2017 at 03:23 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-10-2017, 03:34 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 423
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What possible feature in High Sierra is there that anybody running a DAW needs? Of all the things to complain about I do not want Avid to rush to support High Sierra.... I would much rather they focus on core product stability and get around to supporting High Sierra at their usual pace....


Bingo. It boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-10-2017, 04:45 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,743
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
APFS is wicked fast. HS working great for me.
Same here. It's why I upgrade to HS last week. And, yes, it's been fine with PT, and all of my other apps.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-13-2017, 10:09 AM
mlavin00 mlavin00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 23
Default Re: High Sierra yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Same here. It's why I upgrade to HS last week. And, yes, it's been fine with PT, and all of my other apps.
Good to know. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6L AVB with OS X High Sierra brinnbacka VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 10-20-2018 12:52 AM
FastTrack C400 on High Sierra? mad_griffith FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 21 03-21-2018 10:09 AM
Mbox 3 and Mac OS High Sierra compatibility MarcelMendesFilho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-11-2017 03:29 AM
12.8.2R2 on High Sierra TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 3 10-21-2017 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com