Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2016, 01:46 AM
K_BCN K_BCN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 17
Default Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

Hi,

Artist Control + Win 8.5 here. Dedicated LAN interface, tried with both dynamic and static IPs. It just disconnects after a random time.

I am reading through this forum and its really discouraging. Same issue on many many different computers/setups. I wonder if this just happens to everybody, or if maybe there´s a batch of faulty units..dont know.

Can i, as a user, do anything about it? I wouldnt like to start a eternal email conversation with Avid´s support before asking here.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2016, 02:58 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 193
Default Re: Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

Are you using Wifi? The only EuCon troubles I've had were related to Wifi. If I connect to Wifi whilst EuControl is running, the controllers can lose connection. If I start the Wifi first and then EuControl, everything is fine.

Might be worth disabling your Wifi and see if that fixes the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2016, 09:14 AM
ALSTUDIOS ALSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: REGENSDORF
Posts: 67
Default Re: Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_BCN View Post
Can i, as a user, do anything about it? I wouldnt like to start a eternal email conversation with Avid´s support before asking here.
Hi

I do notice as well more often than in previous EuControl versions, that the connection between the DAW application (in my case Cubase PRO 8.5.10) and the Artist controllers get lost.

I didn't figure out, what's really the basic problem with that, as well as it is not reproducible.
Some time, I log-in to the internet or log-out of the internet, which doesn't have any relation to the Ethernet port (is all made by USB-port) and loose the connection. Sometime I can do it several times and keep the connection.

I'm not a PC/IT guy. Therefore I just have to wait either for a bugfix on EuControl or the now using workstation goes down and I have to buy another one


Cheers
__________________
****************************************
ALSTUDIOS REGENSDORF SWITZERLAND
a.l.recordingstudio.ch@gmail.com
https://sites.google.com/site/alrecordingstudio/
1pc AVID Artist Control and 1pc Euphonix MC Mix
Win7 64Bit, Cubase Pro 10.0.20
****************************************
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2016, 08:26 AM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Re: Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_BCN View Post
Hi,

Artist Control + Win 8.5 here. Dedicated LAN interface, tried with both dynamic and static IPs. It just disconnects after a random time.

I am reading through this forum and its really discouraging. Same issue on many many different computers/setups. I wonder if this just happens to everybody, or if maybe there´s a batch of faulty units..dont know.

Can i, as a user, do anything about it? I wouldnt like to start a eternal email conversation with Avid´s support before asking here.

Thanks
Make sure your USB and Ethernet port options don't allow the computer to shut them down to save power.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2016, 11:23 AM
owensoundstudios owensoundstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

For cubase, i read somwhere, that on a mac using a usb sound card there is somtimes an issue with the soundcards via USB when the computer is idleing, I wonder if that type of thing could be affecting the Eucon.
I don't lose connextion and I have the eucons directly into a small switch, which is plugged into the mac. I do, however, have cubase crash affter leaving it idle for a few hours.

Also, I don't have my Eucon load automatically- and one thing I've noticed, when it reloads, it never remembers to re assign the four faders on the control.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2016, 02:30 AM
K_BCN K_BCN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 17
Default Re: Is there anything we can do about Artist losing connection?

Thanks for the replies.

I am not using Wifi at all.

Make sure your USB and Ethernet port options don't allow the computer to shut them down to save power.

Can you please explain how to to that in Windows 8?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Avid Artist Control losing connection with logic X using usb to ethernet adapter smartinez5878 Artist Series 4 06-23-2014 11:10 PM
Artist Control v2 losing connection with PT 10 (Mac) Trazan Artist Series 5 05-22-2014 12:53 AM
Keep losing connection with my 002! chanlon25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-02-2006 04:21 PM
Losing USB Connection stealth_162 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 03-02-2006 09:56 PM
My 002 keeps losing the connection partytrain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-02-2004 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com