Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2014, 01:11 AM
jakehudak jakehudak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Randleman,Nc
Posts: 2
Default Installing free plugins in Pro tools express?

I bought pro tools express awhile back and recently downloaded some free plugins and dragged them into my plugins folder, but pro tools wont read them. A message keeps popping up that i need to authorize them before i can use them. How do i authorize them? Any help would be appreciated:)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2014, 04:18 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,638
Default Re: Installing free plugins in Pro tools express?

Hi and Welcome to the Community

If I look into my "Chrystal Ball" I see exacly which plugins you are talking about aswell as your system setup .. or Not!

Read This Please so I don't have to guess what you are trying to do here.

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2014, 11:41 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Installing free plugins in Pro tools express?

most free plugs are not VST or UA both are not compatible with Pro Tools

Express will only work with RTAS/Audio Suite format plugs
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2014, 02:28 PM
jakehudak jakehudak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Randleman,Nc
Posts: 2
Default Re: Installing free plugins in Pro tools express?

The plugins im trying to install are .dpm files
The version of pro tools i have is 10.3.4
The hardware i have is an avid mbox mini
Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 duo
Memory: 8 gb 1067 MHz DDR3
I hope that helps. Im a noob when it comes to computers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2014, 04:27 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: Installing free plugins in Pro tools express?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakehudak View Post
I bought pro tools express awhile back and recently downloaded some free plugins and dragged them into my plugins folder, but pro tools wont read them. A message keeps popping up that i need to authorize them before i can use them. How do i authorize them? Any help would be appreciated:)
Which plugins exactly? Dragging them into the plugins folder is not the typical way of installing them. You usually need to run an installer. Just because you have the .dpm plugin file doesn't mean you can install it, nor does it mean it's "free".
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Express plugins and restrictions? PResin Pro Tools Express on Windows 7 04-08-2015 11:18 AM
Pro Tools Express Plugins + Virtual Instruments mros12 Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 2 06-25-2013 08:17 PM
Error installing Bomb Factory free plugins sneakyimp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-26-2005 06:33 PM
installing plugins to pro tools le FinnJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-30-2003 05:28 PM
installing plugins for pro tools 6 in OSX the riff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-30-2003 03:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com