Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2001, 11:25 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default BACK UP

I'd love to hear from anyone who is doing back ups of over 2 gig in size, what do you use (assuming you're happy with it)?
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2001, 02:17 PM
skinnyeye skinnyeye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North Hollywood, CA , U.S.A.
Posts: 20
Default Re: BACK UP

I use Retrospect software with an AIT tape drive at work. I have backed-up up to 12 gigs using this stuff. AIT drives are fast, too. On my 9500 at work, it backs up around 90megs/second, which is incredible for a tape back up. The only drawback is cost--AIT drives are VERY expensive. Other tape drives (ie, Exabyte) will do the job also, but they are extremely slow. 12gigs on an AIT drive: about 2-2.5 hrs. 12 gigs on an Exabyte drive: 8-12 hrs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2001, 12:22 AM
Mike Thornton's Avatar
Mike Thornton Mike Thornton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 384
Default Re: BACK UP

Excrix VXA 1 with MezzoArchiver which reads the Protools session and can read the session and backup just whats in the session even if stuff is across several drives.

www.mezzogmr.com



------------------
Mike Thornton
One Stop Digital (OSD) Ltd.
http://www.osd-uk.com
__________________
Mike Thornton MIPS
Audio Meister and Editor of Pro Tools Expert
www.pro-tools-expert.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2001, 01:32 AM
johnnyprotools johnnyprotools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: BACK UP

I use mezzo with datadat DDS3 tapes, slow but cost effective, I get nervous when mezzo backs up a PT session just by dragging the session ICON, sooner or later, I'm gonna get that "can't find file" warning sign that is shortly followed by the "warning: career not responding, career corrupted" sign when your client finds out
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2001, 03:05 PM
hrob hrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Newton MA USA
Posts: 80
Default Re: BACK UP

I get 60MB/min on an Exabyte Eliant 820. That's roughly 15-20min/G (or 3-4G per hour). Exabyte tapes are 6G each and are the least expensive of anything out there (at aleast anything which holds a few gigs).

I get 150-180MB/min on an Ecrix VXA drive. VXA Tapes hold 33G and are very expensive.

[This message has been edited by hrob (edited May 03, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2001, 03:07 PM
hrob hrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Newton MA USA
Posts: 80
Default Re: BACK UP

I get 60MB/min on an Exabyte Eliant 820. That's roughly 1520min/G (or 3-4G per hour). Exabyte tapes are 6G each and are the least expensive of anything out there (at aleast anything which holds a few gigs).

I get 150-180MB/min on an Ecrix VXA drive. VXA Tapes hold 33G and are very expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2001, 10:36 PM
sv_guy sv_guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: BACK UP

I have a DVD - RAM. It seems to write about the same speed as a 4x CD burner. The only draw back is that the disks are a little pricey. A 5 gig disk is like $30. They have 9 gig, though, those are more expensive...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2001, 07:15 AM
haydarpasa haydarpasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venray, Limburg, Holland
Posts: 36
Default Re: BACK UP

Quote:
Originally posted by sv_guy:
I have a DVD - RAM. It seems to write about the same speed as a 4x CD burner. The only draw back is that the disks are a little pricey. A 5 gig disk is like $30. They have 9 gig, though, those are more expensive...
Huuh, here in Holland I can buy the 9.4 gigabyte Dvd-ram disks from Tdk for only 26 Dollars. Maxells are a little bit more expensive but Tdk is also very good soooo..
Mezzo is also going to support dvd-ram in june with version 4.0
Regards,
Haluk

------------------
www.ogmrecordings.com

haluk@home.nl
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2001, 07:47 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: BACK UP

I use Retrospect with a 4mm DDS drive (DAT sized tapes). I get about 2 Gb to a 90M tape. The tapes are cheap (and double as a 3-hour audio DAT) but it takes overnight to do the backup.

------------------
Chris Droessler
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2001, 08:58 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: BACK UP

Barnabas

You obviously have a DDS-2 drive... The newer DDS-4 holds 20 gig uncompressed and backs up 18 gigs in about 45 minutes. The media cost about $35/DAT

Rail

------------------
Recording Engineer
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I back back all files from my internal hd to my OWC external firewire800 hd? moya83 macOS 1 11-12-2012 06:36 AM
2 monitors back to 1 - can't get video back from right screen simon hunt macOS 5 10-09-2012 05:37 PM
Digital feed back on play back after Bounce drew88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-12-2005 01:18 PM
Back up system folder on back up drive? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-24-2002 09:15 AM
Masterlist also used as back to back mixed by a Dj "list"? Eric Maijs Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 04-09-2000 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com