Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2013, 03:59 AM
Skwedge Skwedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: manchester
Posts: 3
Default Should I get a new MBOX?

Hi. I am having constant issues with CPU usage, and wondered if changing my M Audio device would change that? I have a fast track pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2013, 05:35 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,774
Default Re: Should I get a new MBOX?

An interface won't help you with CPU usage.
What's your system?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.5
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2013, 09:22 AM
Skwedge Skwedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: manchester
Posts: 3
Default Re: Should I get a new MBOX?

it's windows 7 64 bit, I also wondered if a new hard drive might help.
I've managed to sort the cpu problems out by freezing tracks/bussing the drums. There are still glitches in playback, but at least these don't end up on the final bounced down track. I also reinstalled everything on my computer, including windows, which helped but it was the bussing that finally got me able to finish my work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2013, 09:25 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,774
Default Re: Should I get a new MBOX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwedge View Post
it's windows 7 64 bit, I also wondered if a new hard drive might help.
I've managed to sort the cpu problems out by freezing tracks/bussing the drums. There are still glitches in playback, but at least these don't end up on the final bounced down track. I also reinstalled everything on my computer, including windows, which helped but it was the bussing that finally got me able to finish my work.
What CPU do you have? And what are your settings in the playback engine?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.5
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2013, 04:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: Should I get a new MBOX?

Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
posting a Sandra report is the best way to get the best help and advice
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated Mac Drivers for Mbox, Mbox Pro and Fast Track Ultra now available Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-30-2012 04:24 PM
Mbox mix knob always plays a drum track,Mbox 2 and Pro-tools LE 8: Haezel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2011 02:58 AM
Digi Tech Suppport? Pfft!!! Mbox/Mbox academic Questions WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 01:03 PM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 08:18 PM
Mbox - Routing the computers audio through the mbox ie. CD Rom, system sounds brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 03:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com