Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:59 PM
J.Lloyd J.Lloyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
Default Can not record in Pro Tools 8. EXTREMELY low mic playback

Hi.before i get into this all. I run windows 7, have mbox and run pro tools 8. I also use a M-Audio mic (solaris).

I just recently bought pro tools 8 a few day ago. the program is great.But I am having a problem recording my vocals with my mic.It is a condenser mic, requiring Phantom power (which i have turned on). I hook my mic directly to the MBox mini via XLR cable and make sure the gain and all the settings on the mbox itself are correct. Then take all the necessary step to record a track, create a mono track, make sure the inputs are correct, arm the track, and record. Then i record my vocals. when i play them back they are so low you can faintly hear them. There is no type of wave/sound at all on the track itself. as i said before. i tried everything with the gain, all the way up and down. headphone levels are fine. mix knob is dead center. Funny thing is i have a mixer, 8 channel yamaha. when i hook the mic to the mixer, then the mixer to the mbox everything works fine. i can record and everything works. but the big mixer is very unnecessary and i want to hook the mic directly up to the box. ANY IDEAS?!?! i am thinking maybe there are settings on the program itself i am over looking
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 06:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: Can not record in Pro Tools 8. EXTREMELY low mic playback

Please repost in the proper section of the conference. This section is for HD users.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools SE won't playback or record clifrodamus Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 1 09-22-2012 11:20 PM
Can not record in Pro Tools 8. EXTREMELY low mic playback J.Lloyd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-30-2010 10:13 PM
Extremely quiet playback? JesseG. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 05-31-2008 07:48 PM
pro-tools m-powered 6.8 playback and record stops! aldaer Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-22-2006 02:00 PM
Extremely slow playback brianpatrick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-14-2003 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com