Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2009, 01:39 PM
Malcontent Malcontent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Default Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

Hi

I bought an Mbox 2 a couple of years ago. It came with Pro Tools LE7 which I installed onto my computer.

The thing is at the time I really only used Logic to make music, so my LE7 just lay dormant on my computer. I never updated it because I never used it and never thought I would.

Anyway the computer was no longer fit for purpose so I bought a new one, an Imac to be precise, running leopard.

I now want to use pro tools on my new computer but my old disc is not compatible with leopard.

If I could buy a brand new version of LE I would, but as far as I'm aware I can't without also buying some hardware too.

Is there anyway that I can upgrade to the current version of LE even though my LE disk is not compatible with my new computer?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:34 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

You can buy an upgrade online to PT8 for $150 at the digi Store. Some retailers have it as well..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:40 PM
Malcontent Malcontent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

OK thanks, if it's purchased as an upgrade will it work on a computer that has previously never had Pro Tools installed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:49 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

This always seems to cause confusion...

It is a stand alone installer and will actually work better as a fresh installation..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:59 PM
Malcontent Malcontent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

Really???

I was under the impression that pro tools LE/HD etc could only be purchased when accompanied by a hardware purchase?

I'll look into this, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:18 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

It will only work if you already have the correct hardware. The hardware is the dongle..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:30 PM
Malcontent Malcontent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

I have a dongle from my original Mbox purchase, but that was a few years ago.

Wonder if it'll still work?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:05 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,504
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

Click on "Compatibility & Upgrades" at the top of the forum, then on the link that says:
Pro Tools LE for Mac OS X Compatibility & Upgrade Information
Quote:
All paid upgrades are full installers that do not require previous purchase or installation of Pro Tools software. To upgrade from a previous version of Pro Tools, it is only necessary to purchase the most recent upgrade.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2009, 11:37 PM
Malcontent Malcontent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

So as long as my old dongle is plugged into my computer, the latest paid upgrade (LE8) should work?

OK thanks for that!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-2009, 12:06 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Can I purchase an upgrade from LE 7?

If you are talking about an iLok, then no, you have things mixed up

Your Mbox is the dongle for protools. ProtoolsLE will not run without a Digi Interface. As long as you have that Mbox you can upgrade to whatever version of protools. Sorry to confuse you by calling the interface "hardware"..

The ilok is for plugin authorizations. That is a different story and depends on what you have on there
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Purchase PT 9 upgrade square_eyes Pro Tools 9 6 11-09-2010 03:52 PM
How do I purchase Upgrade to 7.4? djjimmylyons Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-11-2008 08:41 PM
Purchase 7.4 software (not upgrade)? Nicolasixxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-16-2008 01:47 PM
CAN'T PURCHASE DV TOOLKIT 2 UPGRADE!!! drguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-30-2007 06:54 PM
OT - Need Advice on Upgrade Purchase soundsurfr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-06-2004 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com