Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2004, 12:15 PM
Pricey2 Pricey2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 10
Default Universal Audio plug-ins?

Is anyone using these on PT? And WHY aren't they listed on the Developers secion of Digi's site?!? Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2004, 01:02 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

The answer is simple (It's blowing in the wind). Digi is now selling a competing product! - why should they be listed here?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2004, 01:25 PM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

The UA plug-ins are AWESOME ! I think Digi wasn't too happy when UA decided to sell their UAD Cards to the LE market and use the VST-RTAS wrapper to get them into ProTools. Also I think there was some kind of legal action because of the BombFactory/Digidesign LA-2A LA-3A and 1176LN naming which are now BF-2A ,BF-3Aand BF76. But try out their plug-ins they are worth it!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2004, 01:46 PM
Ask the Developer Guy's Avatar
Ask the Developer Guy Ask the Developer Guy is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Daly City, CA US
Posts: 91
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

WOW - hold on a minute here. When there's speculation about legal action or about Digidesign trying to withhold marketing for a Development Partner, I'm compelled to chime in!

Digidesign voluntarily changed the names of Bomb Factory 1176, LA-2A and LA-3A to BF-76, BF-2A and BF-3A, respectively, after we purchased the assets of Bomb Factory. We did this because the Universal Audio product DO sound great, we wanted to reduce/avoid confusion, and most of all, because we wanted people to evaluate, try and buy these Universal Audio products! No legal action, no conspiracy - none of that!

I just checked our online development partners catalog and you are correct, there is no listing for the Universal Audio products. The printed catalog and its online counterpart are an opt-in service and UA is currently opting to market their products on their own site. As new UA products come to pass (and there is some very cool stuff on the way) we will announce it in channels including DigiNews, and in the catalog if UA requests it.
__________________
Ask the Developer Guy!
Ed Gray
Director, Partnering Programs
Avid
650.731.6490
Skype edgray1000
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2004, 02:00 PM
mersisblue mersisblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: nj
Posts: 1,285
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

any comment about using the UAD in LE ?

If I mention there was some legal action will that get a response ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2004, 02:24 PM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

Quote:
The printed catalog and its online counterpart are an opt-in service and UA is currently opting to market their products on their own site.
So you are saying Universal Audio opted out of having their plug-ins listed under your online plug-in finder ? I was told something different when I contacted them a couple of months ago. I was concerned about my plug-ins not being supported or being discontinued since all of a sudden they are nowhere to be found on the Digidesign site. I was left with a different impression as to why they dissapeared from everything.

Back to the original question. Yes try them, I personally like them more than the BF counterparts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2004, 02:35 PM
Dan Pinder Dan Pinder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 748
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

Just bought the Studio Bundle (1176, LA-2A & Pultec) and I'm very happy with the sound. They are cleaner than the BF versions, and remind me more of the real thing. Money well spent.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2004, 08:05 AM
Magno Magno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 110
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

The Digidesign need works with excellent Developers of TDM plugins such as TC Electronics and Universal Audio.
This is Naturally LAW of the life, cause that we are here looking everything and we wish the best audio stuff always!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2004, 12:36 PM
mpark9000 mpark9000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

Quote:
WOW - hold on a minute here. When there's speculation about legal action or about Digidesign trying to withhold marketing for a Development Partner, I'm compelled to chime in!
If there's anybody competing, it would be UA. Great plugs, great company but not the stature of Digi. So it may be case of UA competing with Digi, but Digi not competing with UA. I have no facts, just speculating along with the rest of you.

Like Steve Jobs said (or stole probably) "You need a good enemy". Like in the early 80's when Apple took on IBM, but IBM was only dimly aware of Apple.

UAs hardware products are not as elegant as TDM, and tend to work even more clumsily in ProTools. OTOH, their TDM based products rock!

$.02
__________________
"They may call it walking in Texas, but in California we call it just being a jerk"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2004, 03:23 AM
Pricey2 Pricey2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Universal Audio plug-ins?

Quote:
The printed catalog and its online counterpart are an opt-in service and UA is currently opting to market their products on their own site.
Very strange. I guess I should ask UA why they don't want to be listed in Digidesign's catalog.

Inexplicable things tend to bug me. I highly recommend the UA plugs to all the PT users I know, but they've never heard of them, and think I'm talking about the Bomb Factory plugs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Universal Audio DSP Cards & plug-ins gclef101 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-09-2009 03:34 AM
Universal Audio Plug-in Questions GovrCheeze Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 10-11-2008 12:18 PM
Universal Audio plug-ins Pricey2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-26-2004 08:38 AM
What happened to the Universal Audio Plug-ins?? thermal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-27-2002 03:06 AM
Universal Audio TDM Plug-ins! etherize Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-07-2002 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com