Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1281  
Old 05-03-2019, 10:41 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 367
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

if you NEED 1024 midi tracks to write a song or to do something creative, theres another business for you, where utter lack of creativity abounds, its called the government.....why not 10,000 midi tracks, think of the musical genius that'll be revealed, with each thousand more midi tracks.......wow....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #1282  
Old 05-04-2019, 12:55 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 777
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by capt kirk View Post
if you NEED 1024 midi tracks to write a song or to do something creative, theres another business for you, where utter lack of creativity abounds, its called the government.....why not 10,000 midi tracks, think of the musical genius that'll be revealed, with each thousand more midi tracks.......wow....
Have you ever scored a feature .. ?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #1283  
Old 05-04-2019, 02:39 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Have you ever scored a feature .. ?
So you would/could actually use 1024 midi tracks? I mean I get it a feature (assuming movie or TV) would use a lot of midi tracks but 1024? I had no idea. Clearly I'm not in the movie/tv business. That seems like an awful lot of midi tracks. Someone heard and listened to the need at Avid.

Just curious what is the max number of midi tracks you've had to use on a score?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, Logic Pro 10.4.4, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, Waves 10 Mercury

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #1284  
Old 05-04-2019, 03:28 AM
andreªs andreªs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 109
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
So you would/could actually use 1024 midi tracks? I mean I get it a feature (assuming movie or TV) would use a lot of midi tracks but 1024? I had no idea. Clearly I'm not in the movie/tv business. That seems like an awful lot of midi tracks. Someone heard and listened to the need at Avid.

Just curious what is the max number of midi tracks you've had to use on a score?
It's all about setting up templates in order to have a wide range of sounds right at your fingertips for instant use in a session. It's an absolutely common workflow set-up especially when scoring with Cubase. You never will use all those tracks at once in a cue...
Reply With Quote
  #1285  
Old 05-04-2019, 05:13 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,708
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Have you ever scored a feature .. ?
I thought feature films were still using live orchestras. 1024 MIDI tracks sounds like independent films that can't afford to hire real musicians.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #1286  
Old 05-04-2019, 05:34 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 617
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I thought feature films were still using live orchestras. 1024 MIDI tracks sounds like independent films that can't afford to hire real musicians.

I don't think it matters. At some point all of those scores are going to be written and arranged using DAW based workflows well before any real musician is even booked.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #1287  
Old 05-04-2019, 09:24 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,823
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I thought feature films were still using live orchestras. 1024 MIDI tracks sounds like independent films that can't afford to hire real musicians.
No.
The mockup is still done in MIDI and in-depth MIDI at that

Not to mention there's a wide variety of synthetic sounds, obscure percussion, and ethnic instruments that are left in the final score even with real orchestra. Templates can have 300 MIDI tracks devoted to different types of metallic hits or pads alone; a lot of those custom built/recorded "instruments." If you see someone like Alan Silvestri, John Powell or Hans Zimmers full templates, you'll see hundreds of tracks -- however hiding the unused groups of MIDI template tracks is pretty common.

And that kind of palette also takes up more MIDI tracks in a template. Cubase and Logic have been handling this well for A list composers. Pro Tools has been awful at this which is why expanding MIDI is/was needed.

The small-minded people railing against this as "not being creative" just lack imagination of what the workflow is like for others (professionals.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #1288  
Old 05-04-2019, 10:06 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
No.
The mockup is still done in MIDI and in-depth MIDI at that

Not to mention there's a wide variety of synthetic sounds, obscure percussion, and ethnic instruments that are left in the final score even with real orchestra. Templates can have 300 MIDI tracks devoted to different types of metallic hits or pads alone; a lot of those custom built/recorded "instruments." If you see someone like Alan Silvestri, John Powell or Hans Zimmers full templates, you'll see hundreds of tracks -- however hiding the unused groups of MIDI template tracks is pretty common.

And that kind of palette also takes up more MIDI tracks in a template. Cubase and Logic have been handling this well for A list composers. Pro Tools has been awful at this which is why expanding MIDI is/was needed.

The small-minded people railing against this as "not being creative" just lack imagination of what the workflow is like for others (professionals.)
I for one have no idea what the professionals you mentioned do to turn out top-notch film scores. Seems they did it fine before there was midi, some of the dudes you mentioned were writing killer scores in the 80s. But if 1024 is a good number (seems rather random to me....why not 1150?) for the .000001% of PT users, i'm all for it . Meanwhile I can't get 5 VIs to work with PTs without having to freeze track everything. I assume these professionals don't use PTs for the heavy VI lifting, which it is not capable of, but rather load the stems from another DAW, or I should say their interns do.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, Logic Pro 10.4.4, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, Waves 10 Mercury

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #1289  
Old 05-04-2019, 10:33 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 16
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
But if 1024 is a good number (seems rather random to me....why not 1150?)
In a binary system, a lot of things boil down to powers of 2. Hard to know the exact reason in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #1290  
Old 05-04-2019, 11:23 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,823
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
I for one have no idea what the professionals you mentioned do to turn out top-notch film scores. Seems they did it fine before there was midi, some of the dudes you mentioned were writing killer scores in the 80s. But if 1024 is a good number (seems rather random to me....why not 1150?) for the .000001% of PT users, i'm all for it . Meanwhile I can't get 5 VIs to work with PTs without having to freeze track everything. I assume these professionals don't use PTs for the heavy VI lifting, which it is not capable of, but rather load the stems from another DAW, or I should say their interns do.
1024 because 2^10

The industry has changed since the 80s. As have budgets. As have expectations by directors and producers on mockups.

When you have thousand midi track templates, you aren’t using a single system DAW. No DAW can run thousands of instruments (processing and RAM)— you use a host and multiple computers to distribute instruments. Hans Zimmer uses a custom/proprietary host software over many computers (14+) to feed his DAW. Powell/Silvestri/most composers use Vienna Ensemble Pro over many computers.
But you still need the MIDI tracks in your DAW to trigger these other computers.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 03:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 10:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com