Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2017, 05:16 PM
jpmorgan jpmorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default importing downloaded .mp3s

I downloaded two mp3s of various breaking glass sounds from the internet, but when I try to import them into my session, I get this message: "Cannot open the selected file because file is not a ProTools Session or OMFI file." I've imported mp3s I've downloaded before, but I've never had this problem. What should I do?

If anyone knows where there's an .nki file of shattering glass sounds I could download, it would be greatly appreciated!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg importing mp3s.jpg (53.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2017, 06:08 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,680
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmorgan View Post
I downloaded two mp3s of various breaking glass sounds from the internet, but when I try to import them into my session, I get this message: "Cannot open the selected file because file is not a ProTools Session or OMFI file." I've imported mp3s I've downloaded before, but I've never had this problem. What should I do?

If anyone knows where there's an .nki file of shattering glass sounds I could download, it would be greatly appreciated!
jst drag them into the Tracks list or Edit Window ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2017, 08:15 PM
strangepumpkin strangepumpkin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmorgan View Post
I downloaded two mp3s of various breaking glass sounds from the internet, but when I try to import them into my session, I get this message: "Cannot open the selected file because file is not a ProTools Session or OMFI file." I've imported mp3s I've downloaded before, but I've never had this problem. What should I do?

If anyone knows where there's an .nki file of shattering glass sounds I could download, it would be greatly appreciated!
Are you using the Import Audio function found in "File". The fact that the error states the file is not a Pro Tools session is making me think you're using the incorrect method of importing mp3 files.
__________________
Kyle Whittaker
www.strangepumpkin.ca

Mac Pro (2013)
3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32 GB Memory
OS X 10.12.6

PT 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2017, 11:15 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 574
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by strangepumpkin View Post
Are you using the Import Audio function found in "File". The fact that the error states the file is not a Pro Tools session is making me think you're using the incorrect method of importing mp3 files.
You're probably doing an 'import session' instead of 'import audio'
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2017, 01:23 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Just drag and drop the mp3 file icons onto the Pro Tools edit window...., or on an existing audio track on the edit window if you want to place them somewhere specifically.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2017, 02:53 PM
jpmorgan jpmorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

One mistake I made was that I had created an Instrument track, not an Audio track. So I deleted it and made an Audio track. The "not a ProTools Session" error message no longer appears. Instead, the window shown in the attachment appears where nothing works. Clicking on Add Files, or Add Clip only un-highlights the desired mp3 choice. Done only shuts the window. I've tried dragging the mp3 file onto the track, as I've always done before in other sessions, but nothing happens, nothing at all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mp3 import failure2.jpg (53.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2017, 02:55 PM
jpmorgan jpmorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

By the way, I am using Import Audio.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2017, 03:17 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,083
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Are you running PT as Administrator? If so, uncheck that in Properties>Compatibility as, if checked, you can't drag and drop in Windows.

That said, the Import Audio dialogue should work. Did you click on Add or Convert in the dialogue to add or convert the MP3 file?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2017, 04:30 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,680
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmorgan View Post
By the way, I am using Import Audio.
sorry .. i was thinking MAC when i mentioned Drag and Drop .. sucks you cannot do that on PC ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:00 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,083
Default Re: importing downloaded .mp3s

You can drag and drop on PC, just not if you are running PT as Administrator.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools not importing MP3s emilicuadras Windows 1 08-10-2011 12:19 PM
Importing downloaded songs into PT from iTunes lwilliam General Discussion 4 01-30-2008 06:35 PM
Importing MP3s corrupts saving option mariang Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-16-2007 03:52 PM
importing mp3s MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-20-2005 03:46 PM
Importing MP3s; files truncated davfries 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-04-2004 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com