Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:17 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 804
Default PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engine..

Hi all

ProTools Ultimate, HDX-2, in a Mac cheese grater, with no interfaces connected at all, not behaving as expected when I launch ProTools and hold the 'n' key, to launch the playback engine.

The playback engine does not launch (as I want to select 'internal mac' as sound output).... instead I get an error message saying no interfaces detected.

PT 2019.5 in Sierra.

Frustrating as I want to run some basic tests and plugin installs tomorrow, and I dont currently have my Avid HD io interfaces here.

There must be a workaround.

some pref I could trash?

or a different key command?

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

TDM systems not worky without interfacy... behaving as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:03 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
TDM systems not worky without interfacy... behaving as expected.
Isnt TDM, it is HDX completely different software and hardware.

and it is my understanding that HDX can be run with Mac as OP for sound. with no interfaces connected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Actually it is still TDM, aka TDM2 bus architecture... aka DigiLink.

TDM has two meanings, but I meant to say DigiLink.

DigiLinky no interfacy, no worky. Not working as expected.

Happy now?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:56 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Actually it is still TDM, aka TDM2 bus architecture... aka DigiLink.

TDM has two meanings, but I meant to say DigiLink.

DigiLinky no interfacy, no worky. Not working as expected.

Happy now?
No. TDM has ONE meaning, in relation to AVID. Time Division Multiplexing.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2019, 09:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

You are also sure you can run HDX without an interface, how is that working for you?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2019, 09:13 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Pro Tools HDX rigs are perfectly capable of starting up without interfaces attached - when the 'n' key is held down at startup you will still get the playback engine dialog and you can choose a CoreAudio or built-in interface. Of course (as I'm sure the OP knows) you won't get to use the HDX cards, and your AAX DSP plugs won't show up, but the system will run perfectly fine as a native "ultimate" rig.

To the OP; are you sure there's not something going on with your keyboard/usb peripherals that's blocking the 'n' key functionality? It does behave as expected here with interfaces disconnected; 2018.12, HDX, Sierra.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 05-17-2019 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2019, 09:38 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Pro Tools HDX rigs are perfectly capable of starting up without interfaces attached - when the 'n' key is held down at startup you will still get the playback engine dialog and you can choose a CoreAudio or built-in interface. Of course (as I'm sure the OP knows) you won't get to use the HDX cards, and your AAX DSP plugs won't show up, but the system will run perfectly fine as a native "ultimate" rig.

To the OP; are you sure there's not something going on with your keyboard/usb peripherals that's blocking the 'n' key functionality? It does behave as expected here with interfaces disconnected; 2018.12, HDX, Sierra.

best,
rich
Thank you Rich.... nice to hear from a professional and also polite person who actually understands the difference between TDM and HDX...

Yeah at first I had a hub in the way, and then realized that sometimes USB active hubs can strip out key commands at weird times...

I did try a different (original apple) keyboard with no hub.... still no joy.



I seem to recall that I can trash a pref that will 'confuse' the rig and then ask me at launch what PB engine to use....

perhaps I trash all prefs, and try that. Ran out of time yesterday.

As always, Rich you are a true professional. and a nice guy.

MixerGuy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2019, 03:05 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
I seem to recall that I can trash a pref that will 'confuse' the rig and then ask me at launch what PB engine to use....
Honestly don't know *which* pref file it is, but I'd just use Pete Gates' utility to trash 'em all (there's not that many anymore) - they're in ~/library/preferences/Avid/Pro Tools. Still, it's very strange that the 'n' key isn't working... I'm slightly baffled, but Darryl's suggestion to use the keyboard viewer is a good one.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2019, 10:22 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 182
Default Re: PT not behaving as expected when I launch and hold the 'n' key, to launch PB engi

Hello,

Unfortunately you found the same issue I did with the same result - a number of folks tell you N will allow you to select the playback engine but it does not under the following circumstances-
- HDX card installed
- no digilink audio interface attached

It will function as expected with a digilink interface attached.

It doesn’t matter when you press N, how long, and how enthusiastically, nor with what keyboard. Under my usual premise of “it’s probably my problem” I certainly hope someone can prove me incorrect.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403066

As far as I know a bug. It’s unfortunate because I want to do the same thing you mentioned- pull a system out of service, run tests and maintenance, without a digilink interface.

Hugh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine Launch Problem sonoramarecords@gmail.com Pro Tools 11 0 04-08-2016 06:21 PM
PT 11.3 / OS 10.10.2 video engine won't launch kkabel Pro Tools 11 3 02-13-2015 03:42 PM
Video Engine can't launch soundista Pro Tools 11 1 07-15-2014 04:52 PM
Waiting for the Video Engine to launch nicolasvandooren Post - Surround - Video 8 02-09-2014 02:32 PM
Video Engine Failing to Launch palmer_jankens Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-01-2008 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com