Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2019, 05:42 PM
DenverAudioGuy DenverAudioGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1
Default 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

Hey all,

So I have a 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 2.66 12-core with 24 GB of ram using a Pci-e native card with HD I/O and have been able to run PT Ultimate 2018.12 in my studio fine. I have an active Avid subscription, but even after rebooting and re-syncing my account in the Apps Manager, it tells me that 2018.12 is the latest version. I should mention I'm running OS X 10.2.6.

Avid has specifically qualified the 12 core Mac Pro 5,1 for PT Ultimate 2019 and OSX 10.2.6, any ideas why Protools 2019.5 isn't populating in my account manager? Has anyone else had this issue? If I can't go any further than 2018.12 with my current setup, is there any reason to keep my subscription active until I buy a new computer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2019, 06:42 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 191
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverAudioGuy View Post
Hey all,

So I have a 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 2.66 12-core with 24 GB of ram using a Pci-e native card with HD I/O and have been able to run PT Ultimate 2018.12 in my studio fine. I have an active Avid subscription, but even after rebooting and re-syncing my account in the Apps Manager, it tells me that 2018.12 is the latest version. I should mention I'm running OS X 10.2.6.

Avid has specifically qualified the 12 core Mac Pro 5,1 for PT Ultimate 2019 and OSX 10.2.6, any ideas why Protools 2019.5 isn't populating in my account manager? Has anyone else had this issue? If I can't go any further than 2018.12 with my current setup, is there any reason to keep my subscription active until I buy a new computer?
I assume you mean 10.12.6 not 10.2.6.

Application Manager was replaced by Avid Link awhile ago. Application Manager will not show the 2019.5 update.

Log into your Avid account and download the 2019.5 installer. It will also replace Application Manager with Avid Link.

I’d also suggest you update to 10.13.6. It runs a lot better than 10.12 imo.

If you have the proper Apple approved video card, you can go to Mojave. Mojave/PT 2019.5 is the best combo I’ve had on my 5,1 in many years.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2019, 06:52 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 53
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

You should also be able to go to your account on avid.com and download it from your Products and Subscriptions.

If it's not showing up there, check that your subscription is still active and contact Support.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2019, 01:44 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 51
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I assume you mean 10.12.6 not 10.2.6.

Application Manager was replaced by Avid Link awhile ago. Application Manager will not show the 2019.5 update.

Log into your Avid account and download the 2019.5 installer. It will also replace Application Manager with Avid Link.

I’d also suggest you update to 10.13.6. It runs a lot better than 10.12 imo.

If you have the proper Apple approved video card, you can go to Mojave. Mojave/PT 2019.5 is the best combo I’ve had on my 5,1 in many years.
My test does not confirm that. I can run more plugins with 2019.5/Sierra than 2019.5/Mojave combination.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2019, 02:15 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

I have a 5.1 12 core and I am running PT Ultimate with an HD Native PCIe card on the latest versions of Mojave with no issues other than a frustrating on and off again problem with creating new tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2019, 06:34 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 499
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

There's a 5.1 session with 125 tracks so far that I've been working on for the last few months and after going from 2018.12 which it was running supper smooth to 2019.5, I am now constantly getting our beloved AAE -9173 errors.

I was on PT11 since it came out and updated my 1year + perpetual plan in March ONLY because at NAMM they announced that 2019 HDN would get the extra 128 tracks. Which is a HUGE deal for large 5.1 sessions. I now fear that I can't even go past the usual 128 with this -9173 error. I've been calling avid all day long for the last few days, keeps going to customer service, NOT PT audio tech support because of the overflow


This is BEYOND frustrating, they took all this time coding, and verifying, fixing, to come out almost middle of the year with the issue? Really wish they came out with it in Jan or Feb and just dealt with the issues with each months version release since no matter how much tracks or bug fixes, if you're system just STOPS with a pop up of AAE -9173, everything else is worthless.

Looks like for taxes instead of the $1K tax write off for business, I might just put it under charity at this point
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:40 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

Oh come on, please don't upgrade Pro Tools in the middle of a project if there is not a serious problem you are trying to solve. Have you rolled back to what you had before that was working? Hopefully that is a quick reboot away or reinstall of Pro Tools.

If there is a reason you need to stay on 2019.5 you need to troubleshoot...

Trash prefs
If you had hyperthreading disabled to run 2018 on Mojave try turning it back on. (oops I guess you did not move to Mojave from your signature)
If you had dynamic plugin processing disabled, try turning it back on (it does seems to help more now).
Make sure your disk cache is on, set to several GB at least, disk IO happening can help trigger a -9173 (seemingly more so than a -6101).
Presumably you are mixing and already maxed out your IO buffer size and maybe already freezing tracks?
Check the system is fully optimized etc.
Troubleshoot plugins....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2019, 03:15 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 208
Default Re: 2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1

I’m getting a 9093 error about once a day when I start working then it goes away.

Can’t pin point why or how, the CPU meter does nothing to indicate an error.


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 ultimate and heat mixer Pro Tools 2019 27 05-23-2019 11:26 PM
2019.5 Ultimate on Mac not seeing iLok license (and other possible problems) Pete Gates Pro Tools 2019 21 05-19-2019 10:40 AM
D-Command & PT Ultimate 2019.5 rmccam ICON & C|24 5 05-09-2019 12:49 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 04:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com