Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2014, 10:37 AM
Spyderrp7 Spyderrp7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Playback Engine setting affects XForm rendering time?

In the "Playback Engine" , there is a setting called "Host Processors".
As far as I know that setting has to do with the number of Processors that will be utilised for RTAS processing.
But does it also affects the number of processors that will be used when rendering for elastic audio (XForm)???
Does anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2014, 11:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: Playback Engine setting affects XForm rendering time?

Not positive, but I would expect it to have some effect on any process inside PT. The trick there seems to be, leaving enough cpu OUT of Pro Tools to handle "behind the scene" processes for the OS).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2014, 04:45 AM
Spyderrp7 Spyderrp7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Playback Engine setting affects XForm rendering time?

Ok, just passed some tests.
Opened an empty project, no plugins, just imported a wav file.
Set the playback engine at 1 Processor, limit 40%.
Then pitched +1 the wav with Xform. Took 1:42 to complete the render.
Afterwards changed the playback setting at 4 Processors, limit 95%.
Then pitched +2 the same wav with Xform. Took 1:42 to complete the render.

To summarize, the playback settings, have nothing to do with Elastic Audio rendering.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2014, 08:59 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: Playback Engine setting affects XForm rendering time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderrp7 View Post
Ok, just passed some tests.
Opened an empty project, no plugins, just imported a wav file.
Set the playback engine at 1 Processor, limit 40%.
Then pitched +1 the wav with Xform. Took 1:42 to complete the render.
Afterwards changed the playback setting at 4 Processors, limit 95%.
Then pitched +2 the same wav with Xform. Took 1:42 to complete the render.

To summarize, the playback settings, have nothing to do with Elastic Audio rendering.
My only caveat here is, a restart MIGHT be required for changes to truly take effect. Then again, it also MIGHT be that EA processing only accesses one processor, no matter how many are allotted to PT
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Playback Engine size defaults to the lowest setting in PT 10.3.3 ronstephens Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 03-12-2013 02:19 AM
Optime playback engine setting for Ezdrummer Recon66 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-15-2012 12:47 AM
What's best setting for optimum playback engine performance in pro tools 10 shamanrock Windows 9 12-01-2011 05:16 PM
Help Setting Up Playback Engine hearttimes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-03-2007 05:45 PM
Playback engine every time... GW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-13-2003 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com