Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2011, 05:47 PM
myhrik myhrik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Exclamation Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

I finally bought my HD9 upgrade + HEAT today and cannot seem to use my HEAT activation code. When entering it into www.avid.com/activation, it tells me the code has already been used, and if this is the first time I enter it anyway, I should contact technical support. After surfing around the Avid site for 40 minutes I cannot find any way to contact technical support. So I'm asking you guys here instead. Anyone..?
__________________
Eirik Myhr
film/tv composer
Oslo, Norway
---
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, 8 GB RAM | 192 I/O | HD2 Accel | UAD2 Duo | Mac OS 10.6.4 | Pro Tools HD 9.02 | HEAT | UAD Plugins 5.4.1 | Novation Automap 3.0
NI Komplete 6 with Kontakt 4.0 + libraries: | L.A. Scoring Strings | Symphobia | True Strike 1 + 2 | Galaxy II | Scarbee K.G.B.
SoundToys Native 3.1.1 | Waves Ren. Maxx TDM 7.1 | Melodyne Plugin 1.0.4 | Superior Drummer 2.2.1 | Addictive Drums 1.5.1 | Ampeg SVX 1.1.3

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2011, 06:25 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

http://www.avid.com/US/support/support-contact
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2011, 02:53 AM
myhrik myhrik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

Yeah, that's all I found too, but I can't request help without a support code, which I don't have, or at least I don't think I do. Isn't there somebody I can send an email or something? I really don't think I should pay money just to be able to report that the product activation fails to recognize my code.
__________________
Eirik Myhr
film/tv composer
Oslo, Norway
---
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, 8 GB RAM | 192 I/O | HD2 Accel | UAD2 Duo | Mac OS 10.6.4 | Pro Tools HD 9.02 | HEAT | UAD Plugins 5.4.1 | Novation Automap 3.0
NI Komplete 6 with Kontakt 4.0 + libraries: | L.A. Scoring Strings | Symphobia | True Strike 1 + 2 | Galaxy II | Scarbee K.G.B.
SoundToys Native 3.1.1 | Waves Ren. Maxx TDM 7.1 | Melodyne Plugin 1.0.4 | Superior Drummer 2.2.1 | Addictive Drums 1.5.1 | Ampeg SVX 1.1.3

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:02 AM
markymarken4 markymarken4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 9
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by myhrik View Post
Yeah, that's all I found too, but I can't request help without a support code, which I don't have, or at least I don't think I do. Isn't there somebody I can send an email or something? I really don't think I should pay money just to be able to report that the product activation fails to recognize my code.
Avid are brilliant aren't they!

You sure that your HEAT license isn't already in your iLok account? IIRC you dont actually have to activate HEAT if you've activated/registered your HD9.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:56 AM
Sonny Keyes Sonny Keyes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 334
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarken4 View Post
Avid are brilliant aren't they!

You sure that your HEAT license isn't already in your iLok account? IIRC you dont actually have to activate HEAT if you've activated/registered your HD9.
That was my experience. After hunting around, asking here, and even contacting Avid Support, I discovered the HEAT authorization had been on my iLok all along. I only had to switch it on in the Options menu!

Sonny Keyes
Ricochet Audio
Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2011, 07:40 AM
myhrik myhrik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Thumbs up Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

You're right, both of you! It was already mysteriously waiting in my iLok account!

Now running PTHD9 beautifully on my laptop after tearing my hair out when trying to use PTLE8 yesterday for some quick work at home. This update is da bomb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarken4 View Post
Avid are brilliant aren't they!
Well, I like to think they are!

Thanks!
__________________
Eirik Myhr
film/tv composer
Oslo, Norway
---
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, 8 GB RAM | 192 I/O | HD2 Accel | UAD2 Duo | Mac OS 10.6.4 | Pro Tools HD 9.02 | HEAT | UAD Plugins 5.4.1 | Novation Automap 3.0
NI Komplete 6 with Kontakt 4.0 + libraries: | L.A. Scoring Strings | Symphobia | True Strike 1 + 2 | Galaxy II | Scarbee K.G.B.
SoundToys Native 3.1.1 | Waves Ren. Maxx TDM 7.1 | Melodyne Plugin 1.0.4 | Superior Drummer 2.2.1 | Addictive Drums 1.5.1 | Ampeg SVX 1.1.3

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:59 AM
headleym headleym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

Apologies for resurrecting an older thread. I'm new to Pro Tools and the ilok system, and I'm having the same problem as the Topic Creator with Heat's activation. I have the Student Edition of Pro Tools 10.3.2 and Heat was included as an optional install. When I start up Pro Tools, it recognizes that Heat is installed but asks for an activation code. When I click Next, Pro Tools explains that there is a pending authorization of Heat on my ilok device.

Sonny mentioned the ability to switch Heat on in the ilok options menu. I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to find this setting? When I go to manage licenses on the ilok website, it only displays my Pro Tools license.

Any support is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2013, 11:06 AM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

HEAT plug-in format is AAX DSP and TDM, so it requires Pro Tools HD TDM or HDX hardware. It won't work on a native system. Unless you have an HDX or HD TDM system, you should uninstall it by removing it from your plug-ins folder.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2013, 02:06 PM
headleym headleym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: Cannot activate HEAT license - please help!

Will-do, thanks for the quick response.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does comping to a Heat enabled track print the Heat? joshdrucker macOS 0 03-12-2014 10:17 PM
Activate License Problems Lukas555 Getting Started 2 01-11-2014 12:41 PM
License Activate JPaton Pro Tools 11 0 06-26-2013 07:09 PM
FS: HEAT ilok license and !0_2 installer Snitz Buy & Sell 0 12-04-2012 09:00 PM
The De-activate/re-activate plugins routine nightmare superbask Pro Tools 9 0 03-21-2011 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com