Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2020, 08:24 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

...AGAIN !!!

PT will not start. TLC renewal procedure intervenes, and do not come to completion.

When starting PT, pop-up window says TLC needs to renew itself. Procedure starts but do not complete. Procedure ends saying there is no PT licence on the dongle, or account. Several pop-up windows coming in sequence.

PT license activated to dongle and not expired, as seen through the iLok mgr.

TLC acttivated to dongle and not expired, as seen through the iLok mgr.

Have tried:
Uninstall and reinstall iLok mgr - twice (this helped the last time this happened, but not now)
Press refresh button on right side of TLC in iLok mgr
Pressed synchronize wrench in iLok mgr.
Switched off TLC then on again (PT starts with TLC being off)
Restarting all over the place all the time in between

pls HELP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,082
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Which software versions we are talking about? Have never seen this, not once...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:27 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

PT 219.12
W10 1903

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,082
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Not sure if it is because W1903, but it isn't supported.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:34 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

When I had this happen, I turned off TLC and launched Pro Tools. Then turned TLC back on (after renewing) and rebooted the computer twice. The auth reappeared. You can also go to Pace support and report this. Also, (as Janne pointed out) you should be sure you have Windows 10, ver 1909. It's an easy update.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:34 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

It has been working for a long time. This TLC issue seems to pop up at their 90 day interval.

It is the second time for me

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,082
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkzzaJ View Post
This TLC issue seems to pop up at their 90 day interval.
Ahh, so it is user error then. You do know that with TLC your license is only valid for 90 days, then you need to manually renew it for next 90 days. That is why they can offer you TLC for it, knowing the "stolen" license will expire.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:39 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
When I had this happen, I turned off TLC and launched Pro Tools. Then turned TLC back on (after renewing) and rebooted the computer twice. The auth reappeared.
Ah...
Will try. Do you mean the following
1 un- and un- stall ilokmgr
2 restart
3 TLC off
4 Start pt
5 TLC off
6 restart pc
7 restart pc

...?


Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2020, 09:41 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 84
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Ahh, so it is user error then. You do know that with TLC your license is only valid for 90 days, then you need to manually renew it for next 90 days. That is why they can offer you TLC for it, knowing the "stolen" license will expire.
Have tried refresh TLC (button to the right) to no avail.

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-12-2020, 10:16 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: HELP !! Pro Tools license gone ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkzzaJ View Post
Ah...
Will try. Do you mean the following
1 un- and un- stall ilokmgr
2 restart
3 TLC off
4 Start pt
5 TLC off
6 restart pc
7 restart pc

...?


Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
No. ilok mgr stays. I only turned off TLC. Then opened Pro Tools. Then turned TLC back on. Then rebooted a couple of times.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought Pro Tools, but activation license is now missing in iLok license manager JlrBrodie Licensing & Accounts 4 11-21-2016 01:25 PM
FS: Complete Production Toolkit License, Pro Tools 10/9 license/Best Offer DanSteinberg Buy & Sell 6 08-03-2015 12:03 PM
Does the Pro Tools 11 Academic License include a Pro Tools 10 License as well? EDF Pro Tools 11 1 05-04-2014 03:47 PM
Can not download Pro Tools 11 license to my iLok2 -incomplete license surrender issue StereoZzilla Pro Tools 11 10 01-04-2014 11:11 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com