Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2020, 10:11 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 83
Default update to win 2004 ?

Hi all !
Thx for all previous and upcoming assistance. Hope your are all well.


Running PT 2019.12 on win10/1903 - works fine here.

Intend to update PT to 2020.5.
Windows update is queing 2004 as next upgrade from 1903 .
PT Compatibility chart says 2020.5 is compatible with win 1909.

So my question is:

Will PT 2020.5 work well on win10/2004, or should I stay on 1903 or try to get 1909 when upgrading from PT 2019.12 to 2020.5 ?

/FZZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2020, 02:48 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: update to win 2004 ?

Backup your system before updating. As Dave (albee1952) has often mentioned here, if you can afford another drive for your next big update, and if 2020.5 doesn’t work out for you, just uninstall the new drive and replace it with your previous one, so you can keep working

On your new drive, go to Windows Update and get the latest updates, before installing Pro Tools

Windows Update gave me Windows 10 Pro, Version 1909

All good, so far!
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2020, 07:17 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,668
Default Re: update to win 2004 ?

Updated here quite by accident! But I had just run a disk image so I’m safe, but 2020.3 seems to still be working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2020, 06:25 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 83
Default Re: update to win 2004 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Updated here quite by accident! But I had just run a disk image so I’m safe, but 2020.3 seems to still be working fine.
... 2020.3 working fine...

On win 2004?

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2020, 07:57 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,668
Default Re: update to win 2004 ?

Yep
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the '2004' update bring File explorer improvements ? Ru_C Windows 8 06-04-2020 07:50 AM
What's new at DigiWorld 2004 ?? auxsend1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-01-2004 09:00 AM
AES 2004 : what's new ? krid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-29-2004 10:33 AM
AES 2004 - Rumors? Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 10-01-2004 02:48 AM
OT Euro 2004 neeel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 36 06-27-2004 04:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com