Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2017, 12:13 PM
JayM JayM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tavernier FL.
Posts: 4
Default Trying to view playback engine stops Pro Tools First

Hello,
I am relatively new to Pro Tools First. I started with version 12.8.1 on my Windows 10 system; I utilize a Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 as an audio interface for my electric guitars and a digital piano. Applicable drivers were downloaded from Focusrite.

To get my Yeti USB microphone to function with Pro Tools First I downloaded and configured ASIO4ALL. I was able to record with this mic into Pro Tools.

What is currently broken is: Selecting main menu item Setup -> Playback Engine. Whenever this is attempted, a dialog box displays stating "Pro Tools Application has stopped working." The software then closes.

I did upgrade to Pro Tools First 12.8.2 and while pressing "N" on start-up, was able to see the Playback Engine dialog box, but only 1 time, enabling me to switch drivers. Unfortunately pressing "N" now does not let me get to that dialog box. Could this be a corrupted configuration issue? I am not certain how to progress at this point. Any advice would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2017, 07:58 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,163
Wink Re: Trying to view playback engine stops Pro Tools First

You can try deleting your preferences:

Go to C:Users > *Your User Name* > AppData > Roaming > Avid and delete the Pro Tools folder.

AppData is a hidden folder, so you may just want to enter it in file explorer.


ASIO4ALL is great for getting things up and running, but is not the best solution for a solid, working system. I'm sure you want to use your Yeti, but you would most likely get better performance and system stability using a mic plugged into your Focusrite interface.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:10 PM
JayM JayM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tavernier FL.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Trying to view playback engine stops Pro Tools First

Thank you for sharing your insights Will.

I did find a workaround to consistently display Playback Engine dialog box that was so ridiculous I thought it worthy of mention: open a DOS window before invoking Pro Tools First. Invoke Pro Tools First, then press and hold the "n" key. In the middle of the Pro Tools initialization, the computer focus will suddenly shift back to the DOS window and "n's" will start to print in the DOS window. Close the DOS window; when Pro Tools finishes its initialization process, the Playback Engine will display. Can't make this up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mpc stops when synced to pro tools with loop playback on tonebeats 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-23-2016 05:26 AM
MIDI Thru stops working after sequence playback stops kelcarpenter MIDI 20 03-16-2016 11:43 AM
Playback Engine Issue (Won’t load session with chosen playback engine) MattyJones Pro Tools 11 0 11-02-2015 11:52 AM
Pro Tools playback starts and immediately stops doughthedj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-10-2008 08:13 AM
Pro Tools always stops playback ( for a short time Flohre Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 02-13-2007 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com