Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:34 PM
tubefixer tubefixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 14
Default Does anyone still use an analog console?

Been mixing in the box for a while, but hate to see my 24x8 and 16 channel
boards just gatheing dust... What does everyone use analog boards for
in the studio anymore.... Didn't see this thread anywhere thanks....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2009, 05:05 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,773
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

I use mine for tracking. Everything goes into my analog board, then into Pro Tools via main outs, aux, and sends. As far as mixing, it's all in the box.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2009, 09:36 PM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

wow, of course mate.

It is all about using the best of both worlds.

Regards, Baris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2009, 08:22 AM
ChrisMitchell ChrisMitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 163
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubefixer View Post
Been mixing in the box for a while, but hate to see my 24x8 and 16 channel
boards just gatheing dust... What does everyone use analog boards for
in the studio anymore.... Didn't see this thread anywhere thanks....
Heck yeah, like Baris wrote, it's all about using the best of both worlds. I've been using an Amek Media 51 (28 input) console since, Jan 2004. Before that, had an old Trident. I record using the console (plus external mic pres) into PT through the 96 i/o's.

I mix 90% OTB using the console and rack gear, but I do use Auto-Tune, along with Sound Replacer, EQ, compressor, gain. Whatever does the job the best for the least amount of work and gives the best results.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2009, 09:22 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

Most of what I record is 1-2 tracks at a time. With that in mind, I still use my Mackie 1604 for latency-free monitoring when recording. I split my preamp signal and send it directly to my RME input with the 2nd out normalled to a line in on my Mackie. My main 002R outputs go into 2 channels there and headphone monitoring is done from the board's headphone output. True, latency-free monitoring. [now if Digi would allow you to disable software monitoring globally, it would be even better]

I also have several keyboards plugged in and have the board's 4 sub outs patched into my RME so I can record anything I assign to those subs.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2009, 10:56 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,826
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubefixer View Post
Been mixing in the box for a while, but hate to see my 24x8 and 16 channel
boards just gatheing dust... What does everyone use analog boards for
in the studio anymore.... Didn't see this thread anywhere thanks....
Sell the analog board. Use quality outboard mic-pres on the way in, mix in-the-box with quality plugs and a Kensington Expert Pro Trackball and a Frontier Designs Alphatrack, monitor/talkback controls with a Presonus Central Station. My 2 cents.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2009, 11:36 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

About 25% of my mixing gigs are still "Out through a console / Hardware processing" , usually an SSL or Neve desk, but more and more, it's ending up "In the box"
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2009, 01:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,927
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

No analog desk in my studio. I think if I had the money for a decent one, I would be more likely to get a C24 and more high-end mic preamps(like Vintech or API).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2009, 01:58 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

I think nowadays more people are leaning towards quality summing from the companies who do the baords. Vintech, Neve, URS, theres TONS of companies out there taking the "sound" of their consoles and making a rack piece that is just a master summing bus.

If you have the outs, and the boards are decent, you should try doing mixdowns and see if you get better 2 tracks than your in the box mixes. Ears are the judge.

Now if you like, you can always frankenstine the mic pres and eqs, and make it into "lunchboxes" for your rack. Think of the API or neve mic pres.

D
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:54 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,826
Default Re: Does anyone still use an analog console?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
I think nowadays more people are leaning towards quality summing...
There are high-quality plugs that (arguably) emulate analog devices. For me, though, the biggest advantages of mixing-in-the-box (ITB) are:

1) 100% automation

2) 100% mix recall.

In the "old days of analog mixing" mix recall was always ... close ... but never 100% perfect. Use Pro mics and Pro mic-pres and Pro-ADs and mix in-the-box with Pro plugs. My 2 cent/ears.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining analog console and PT AndyJCP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-22-2009 01:47 AM
Digidesign with analog preamps vs analog console?? Lukassus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-20-2005 02:13 PM
Interfacing 888 analog output with analog console Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-12-2003 02:26 PM
5:1 with analog console poppy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-05-2003 05:11 PM
PC & Analog console COCO ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 12 10-24-2000 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com