Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2013, 08:05 PM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default PT 10 all black edit window

anybody else getting this graphical glitch?? it seems like after a while, and numerous tracks and/or plugins, the edit window is blacked out. i can stil lsee boards, like the groups and tracks on the left, and i can switch to mixer mode, which looks and responds fine. and playback and/or recording works flawlessly...it just seems to be the visual of the edit window. i've closed and reopened the session, same with pro tools...same with a restart...it's crazy...

im using a brand new late 2012 imac, 3.4 ghz i7, 8gb ram,OSX 10.8.3 running PT 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2013, 11:50 PM
stevecaboose stevecaboose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 26
Default Re: PT 10 all black edit window

First thing I would do is redownload a fresh copy of Pro Tools and then uninstall the Pro Tools you have now. Try reinstalling Pro Tools. Make sure your Mac is updated also.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2013, 09:35 PM
haima haima is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: PT 10 all black edit window

I'm not sure if the bug you're describing is the same as something that occasionally happens to me?

Bug: sometimes the edit window goes dark, almost as if i've selected the entire timeline and every track.

Fix: A quick zoom in and out of the timeline.

Hope that's all it is for you (but maybe not...).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 09:56 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: PT 10 all black edit window

The same happens to me as well. The edit window goes black and when I try to select anything, it shows some random red lines and numbers on top of the timeline. Zooming in and out gets the screen back up, but it flickers and I start to get multiple errors.
It happens more often when I have multiple instances of Kontakt. Also, i keep getting errors while trying to save (not enough memory to translate the track).

I have 32gb of ram and I know PT 10 HD only handles up to 4gb max... I have no clue what could be happening. I have about 70 tracks and I am running a video too... (and it is compressed as DV)
Now the job is taking twice as long to complete and I have to restart the computer at least twice an hour in order to be stable for a short period of time.

Anyone experiencing similar problems?
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2013, 12:57 PM
rogerhavoc rogerhavoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 471
Default Re: PT 10 all black edit window

I took some screen shots of it...
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 12.54.01 PM.png (47.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 12.54.30 PM.jpg (36.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
www.whitenoiselab.com

MacPro 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 - Pro Tools Ultimate + HD Native + HD OMNI
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7 16GB Ram (Retina, 15-inch, 2016) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Apollo Twin
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7 32GB Ram (Late 2012) - Pro Tools Ultimate + Mbox Pro (3rd gen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
black mixer-window. Meatbaker Windows 2 03-17-2014 12:35 PM
black and white audio files in edit window Atarie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2009 07:13 AM
Cannot change EDIT MODE in edit window Xavior Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 05-24-2007 12:51 AM
Mix Window Freezes but Edit Window works fine. wwicklund 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-08-2006 10:49 PM
How do you scroll the window with the audio on edit window? fsilano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-01-2001 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com