Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2015, 11:31 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default PT12.2 and HDN Users

I was just motived by something said in another thread. I have to imagine that HDN users are the ones who feel the most screwed by the HD features going form HD to Vanilla. Those alone were the only compelling reasons to even buy HDN. Its not for the I/O alone, as there are tons of great AD/DA boxes out there today. Expanded track count, what percentage HDN owners even needs that much?

Ultimately it was those features they just gave away. I use everyone of them every day. My next upgrade is clear as a bell. Protools Vanilla and Digigrid.

So again how are you HDN guys feeling? I have to image in not very good right now?


UNFORTUNATELY !!!!!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2015, 12:01 AM
jchan jchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 264
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Yeah, copy pasting code is one way of fulfilling a promise of new features..well not exactly new but, new features for Vanilla users.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:26 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,786
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

It paid for itself years ago. I am more than content with it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:59 AM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
It paid for itself years ago. I am more than content with it.
and to add i/we had the features years ago happy i made the choice
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:53 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 701
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

The past has nothing to do with it for me. It's the cost moving forward that is the issue. I regret paying a premium for HD simply because I now must continue to pay a premium for HD moving forward with little or no additional features over the standard Vanilla version of Protools that actually appeal to me.

HD to me now represents something of very little value over the standard version of Protools. I am essentially in the position of having to pay $300 more each year simply to access heat. Heat is good... But it's not that good. I am about to pay $199 to upgrade an MP8 license to PT 12.2 to get the features I paid $2600 in software upgrades over the last 3 years to get.

Throwing in an almost forced plugin rental scheme into HD really ain't going to justify the price tag for me...
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2015, 04:43 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 542
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

For me it's the hardware that was the selling point. It's the only option for my TDIF I/O.
Plus I am one of those people that likes the concept of the closed loop system. It just works and I like that.
I'm still happy. If I could have the HD features with vanilla and still use my Avid hardware I'd probably be okay with that.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.6 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | 2 x Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2015, 04:55 AM
Gemylon's Avatar
Gemylon Gemylon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 809
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
The past has nothing to do with it for me. It's the cost moving forward that is the issue...
Exactly !


G
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2015, 05:07 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchan View Post
Yeah, copy pasting code is one way of fulfilling a promise of new features..well not exactly new but, new features for Vanilla users.
It's not copy/paste. All the HD features are here but locked in Vanilla. In these updates they've just unlocked a few of them. Which, for $99/year, makes it obviously very attractive for a vanilla user like me.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2015, 05:13 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morph View Post
It's not copy/paste. All the HD features are here but locked in Vanilla. In these updates they've just unlocked a few of them. Which, for $99/year, makes it obviously very attractive for a vanilla user like me.
Except there's almost nothing left to unlock. So based on past performance, PT13 will have trim automation and surround. And then what does Avid do? Code something new???
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2015, 05:14 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: PT12.2 and HDN Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
Except there's almost nothing left to unlock. So based on past performance, PT13 will have trim automation and surround. And then what does Avid do? Code something new???
is there the ability to load more than one video in the latest vanilla? Just curious.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12 and PT12 HD surround? theom Pro Tools 12 17 10-12-2015 10:27 AM
PT12(HD) Users Thread Oblivion777 Pro Tools 12 7 03-27-2015 12:39 PM
Midi Users Response to PT12 take77 Pro Tools 12 11 03-26-2015 01:17 PM
UAD users: PT12 requires UAD8.0 or newer FYI. Drew Mazurek AAX Plug-ins 0 03-24-2015 11:52 AM
Need users opinion: New digi users domain name (unofficial).. David Fisher General Discussion 2 07-30-2002 10:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com