Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-28-2007, 03:59 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Quote:
==========================
This means they couldn't make it happen in a manner in which they could debug things to see exactly what was causing it.
No it doesn't or maybe it does - anyway it is your subjective interpretation of textual context. It is fare from objective.

I never stated that you called me any names. I just advised you to read what is important instead of gathering context demeaning it self by addressing my person with proletarian names.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-29-2007, 03:38 AM
jamesb1t jamesb1t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freezes

Can confirm that this is happening on Accell System as soon as we upgraded.

Most noticeable when adding memory locations, counter will spin but screen will not re-draw until transport stopped.
Also region draw header and playback head well out of sync!

No confidence that session full of expensive session musicians is recording...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-29-2007, 06:46 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freezes

Same problem here. G5 dual 2.0, OSX 10.4.8 HD3 accel, PT 7.3
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:47 AM
Audiofarm Audiofarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ʎɐʍɹou
Posts: 205
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Same here!
Happens more often than ever.
It happened when recording too this weekend.
I had a drummer who played after the clicktrack plugin and the click went bananas during the graphic freeze.
So this affect more then graphics and automation.

Svein

PT 7.3.1 HD3 accel
G5 dual 2.5
10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:12 AM
travista00 travista00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 216
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

i'm getting random screen freezes here as well. it's been happening since version 7 as far as i can remember, but definitely happening a lot with version 7.3.1. same symptoms as everyone else and very scary when it happens during recording....
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:51 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

i know it's a drag - but for a while now i have been more or less forced to bounce the click in order to maintain a steady metronome for the players. It's more or less a random thing when doing a bounce with live RTAS instr. if a freeze occur - well then you can go bounce again;-)))

Anyway - if you wanna circumvent the metronome click thing - just bounce your click to an audio file :-(
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:18 AM
AAR AAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 80
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Me too. I've been having those same issues since 6.9.3. I thought my computer was just too old and slow for the software but maybe that is not the case!!???

Has anyone noticed if this is happening with delay compensation on or off? I thought it was just happening with DC on in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:30 AM
rafukyo rafukyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Tsoran Israel
Posts: 193
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Saw this problem on HD on Mac Pro and on LE 7.3.1 PPC both 10.4.8
From time to time graphics freeze for about 6 sec. can do nothing. Then it comes back to work great.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-29-2007, 02:06 PM
rockridge's Avatar
rockridge rockridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 919
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Quote:
It feels like there is a memory leak on the system.

As soon as I reboot the problem disappeared for few hours

this is a new problem in my system...
Could be...

Just out of curiosity, I did a quick search for graphic freezes in the Windows TDM forum...didn’t seem to come up.

I'm starting to wonder if Digi has given up on chasing Apples constant hardware and OSX changes.
__________________
Protools 10.3.10/11.3.2/12.6 | Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-29-2007, 08:12 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freez

Crizdee, 25, Jeremy -

I appreciate folks sticking up for me, but it's not necessary - 25, I don't take any personal offense to what you said. I completely understand your frustration. From your point of view, I can see how it looks like we are dragging this bug around. This is one of the most frustrating bugs we've encountered in as long as I've been here.

To be clear, we have *seen* the bug in house - but only by accident, and then only with release builds of the software. Then when we put the tools on it, it's gone. It's that classic problem, like when you take your car to the mechanic, and THEN it behaves nicely when they have the analyzer on it.

There is some good constructive stuff going on on this thread, and possible scenarios - please, let's get back to that, and maybe we'll get closer to getting a reproducible formula for our developers. Thanks for all your input, and keep it coming.


Danny Caccavo
Product Manager
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm getting Graphic Freezes Again after MDW 3.0 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 32 12-06-2009 10:47 AM
Random Graphic Characters in Audio Regions - PT TDM 6.2.3 ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-21-2008 12:25 PM
graphic freezes in mixer and edit windows nincompoop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-08-2007 01:36 AM
7.3 Graphic Freezes 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-29-2006 05:03 PM
graphic freezes janrudi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-25-2001 02:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com