Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 06-20-2013, 03:10 AM

Default ProTools LE 10.3.4: Unable to locate hardware

I have ProTools LE 10.3.4 which came with my Mbox mini USB audio interface. I'm running on Win 7 64-bit. I had been using it just fine for a few months or so. Today I plugged in the interface and started PT and got the dreaded: "Unable to locate HW" PT error afterwhich PT closes.

The first thing I did was update the driver to 1.1.8 But the odd thing is that I notice when I plug in the USB port to my PC, a box pops up saying that it's searching Windows update for the latest driver. It's almost as though it didn't see my latest driver install. It seems to get a driver from Microsoft dated

11/19/2010, Version 6.1.7601.17514

I tried disconnecting the box, then uninstalling the driver, then installing the new driver with the box disconnected. Everything seems to install just fine. Once I connect the box, it again seems to go out to Microsoft and get the driver and then says that the one above installed and ready for use.

If I try to do a "driver update" in control panel, it says that the one I have is the latest. Of course, I can't manually load the latest driver because it's an exe file and I have no idea where it installs the driver files.

There's an MBox icon in Control Panel which allows me to start up the MBox application. It seems to run fine and shows the latest SW version. But PT still won't start with this app running.

I also see there's a PT 10.3.5 update, but I have no idea if this applies to PT LE. I couldn't find any info on this on the site. I don't know if this has anything to do with my problem or not.

Has anyone else had this problem? Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 06-21-2013, 01:21 AM