Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2013, 12:25 PM
BondAudio BondAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 152
Default MBox Pro (3rd generation) and Surround Monitoring.

Hello,

Is anyone out there using the latest generation MBox Pro for surround mixing and monitoring?

Manual, page 31:

You can choose which Monitor output pairs are controlled by Mbox Pro’s Master Volume knob.
For example, if you enable Master Volume for all three Monitor output pairs, then the Master Volume controls all of them at once. This is useful if you are mixing in surround
.

My goal is not to purchase a surround monitor controller.

Many thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2013, 09:16 PM
Ayush Ahuja Ayush Ahuja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 75
Default Re: MBox Pro (3rd generation) and Surround Monitoring.

Its pretty easy to setup -

In the mbox pro app - setup > output setup tab:

Tick the Master volume box for all three output pairs. The front panel knob will now control the volume on all 6 outputs.

I use this as my surround monitor setup and controller, works fine.

Yush
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2013, 02:39 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: MBox Pro (3rd generation) and Surround Monitoring.

Yeah, same here. The only disadvantage is a lack of alternate outputs at +4dbu for metering. The output level of MBP 3 is a a way lower than standard line level ( e.g. Avid HD IO) even at the maximum volume position.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3rd Generation. Pacificfrost FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 07-29-2013 11:53 PM
Mbox 3rg Generation renando316 Pro Tools 9 4 06-16-2011 01:51 PM
Mbox 1st generation and OS 10.5.7 caz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-24-2011 04:04 PM
Surround Monitoring splicestudios Post - Surround - Video 3 04-12-2005 06:55 AM
Surround encoders for new generation of software? Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-09-2004 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com