Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:40 AM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Lately every time I power up and launch Pro Tools it has to do the "Looking for plug-ins" search. I know this happens when you make changes to the Plug-Ins folder, but I haven't made any. It's making launches take too long! I've trashed preferences but I still get this issue.

dopplah
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:10 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

If I'm not mistaken- trashing your preferences could *cause* this issue... stop trashing your preferences and start and restart Pro Tools a few times and it should go away....
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 09:31 AM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Oh, I don't trash every time. I've launched MANY times since the last trash, and still get this issue after every power cycle.

dopplah
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 02:28 PM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Quote:
Originally Posted by dopplah View Post
Lately every time I power up and launch Pro Tools it has to do the "Looking for plug-ins" search. I know this happens when you make changes to the Plug-Ins folder, but I haven't made any. It's making launches take too long! I've trashed preferences but I still get this issue.

dopplah
What OS are you running? Which version of PT?
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2011, 12:44 AM
syMPh syMPh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Perth, WA Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

me too... it takes soooo long to load .. can't figure it out either... anyone else ???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2011, 12:58 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,034
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

It's possible that the cache has been corrupted. It wouldn't hurt to trash prefs and databases again. Other than that, your Anti-virus could be slowing things down since they like to scan every file that gets accessed by programs. In Microsoft's Security Essentials, you can turn off active file and program monitoring or you can exempt selected folders or processes from being actively monitored.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:53 AM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Third Eye Studios View Post
What OS are you running? Which version of PT?
I'm on Win7 Pro 64-bit, Pro Tools HD 9.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2011, 05:03 AM
lennieh lennieh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Epsom Downs,Surrey,UK
Posts: 388
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
In Microsoft's Security Essentials, you can turn off active file and program monitoring or you can exempt selected folders or processes from being actively monitored.
I've been having the problem and this tip sorted it for me. Selected all the plugin directories for exclusion (i.e. the directories with the .dll files in as well as the two digidesign directories) and excluded protools.exe in the process options. All good, first time load is really fast now....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:33 AM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: "Looking For plug-ins" EVERY time

Quote:
Originally Posted by lennieh View Post
I've been having the problem and this tip sorted it for me. Selected all the plugin directories for exclusion (i.e. the directories with the .dll files in as well as the two digidesign directories) and excluded protools.exe in the process options. All good, first time load is really fast now....

YESSSS! Thank you so much!

dopplah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
"Factory Promo UB" - "Eventide" - iLok license - What plug-in is this? Intini Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-31-2012 08:27 PM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 01:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
"Buss" and "Plug in" words grayed out... amba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-10-2008 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com