Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2002, 06:08 AM
Raven Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Posts: 158
Default Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

Using a Mackie D8B with a TDIF card and an ADAT Card, PT HD with 192 I/O. Can the ADAT optical and the TDIF I/Os be used simultaneously? What will be the clock setting on the board (D8B) and in PT? Which ADAT Optical port will one use? The one on the chassis or the one on the Digital I/O card?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2002, 10:25 PM
Raven Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Posts: 158
Default Re: Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

Just bumping this up...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2002, 07:43 AM
spong spong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Posts: 345
Default Re: Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

I am pretty sure you can mix and match any stereo pair on the 192 digital card. So you can have any combination of Tdif and light pipe up to a maximum of 8 I/O.
__________________
cheers
spong
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2002, 07:52 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Raven:
Can the ADAT optical and the TDIF I/Os be used simultaneously?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This may be accomplished by using the ADAT I/O on the enclosure and the TDIF port on the Digital I/O card. However, the enclosure ports do not offer real-time SRC (the ADAT Optical format only supports sample rates up to 48kHz).

If you have a need to 'up-sample' your audio from your D8B into Pro Tools for session sample rates of higher than 48kHz, then you will need to add another Digital I/O card in the available expansion bay.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>What will be the clock setting on the board (D8B) and in PT?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-I would have the D8B supply the clock to Pro Tools either with a Word Clock connection or by resolving to the ADAT Optical or TDIF audio signals.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2002, 10:00 PM
Raven Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Posts: 158
Default Re: Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

Hi Brent,
So I can get 8 channels of TDIF I/O and 8 channels of ADAT I/O without SRC, SIMULTANEOUSLY, right? What would be the clock setting on PT? DIgital?
And with another Digital I/O card I can get SRC on both ADAT and TDIF (8 channels each)?
I am just double checking as I need to confirm this to a client.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2002, 08:06 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Raven:
So I can get 8 channels of TDIF I/O and 8 channels of ADAT I/O without SRC, SIMULTANEOUSLY, right?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Correct.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>What would be the clock setting on PT? DIgital?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-Yes. However, I would suggest you running a master clock source that both your ADAT, Tascam, and PT can resolve to (assuming that you are going to be performing synchronized transfers).


<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>And with another Digital I/O card I can get SRC on both ADAT and TDIF (8 channels each)?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Correct.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDIF to ADAT convertors and 192 dropouts Atwiss Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-23-2003 04:32 AM
TDIF to ADAT for 001/002 Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-18-2003 06:12 AM
16 extra channels with optical ADAT TDIF on Digi001 fa100 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-20-2003 11:52 AM
Simultaneous TDIF and ADAT into 192 I/O? Raven Tips & Tricks 0 03-15-2002 06:07 AM
Simultaneous Recording PT &ADAT Llanito Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-27-2001 05:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com