Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2019, 10:29 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 385
Default Playlist soloing still lacking

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2543906&postcount=14

Whenever I revisit an old issue, I forget that duc has separate subforums for each version, so bumping is useless. Anyway:

1) It'd be efficient if moving the edit cursor up and down playlists automatically solo'd them in turn. In lieu of that...

2) There's an annoying, inexplicable discrepancy between mouse and keyboard behavior when soloing playlists. When a track is solo'd, clicking on a playlist's solo button maintains the track's solo status. But shift-S (and I assume most users prefer shortcuts over mousing around) with the edit cursor on a playlist lane disables the track's solo. Shift-S in a playlist lane, or perhaps a secondary shortcut like ctrl-shift-S, should maintain the track's solo status.

A couple other grievances

3) I'm disappointed that there's no shortcut for cycling thru playlists. (Correct me if I'm wrong.) You have to make a selection first, and then cycle. That's cool and useful, but it'd be nice to skip the selection part in some cases.

4) The "-" shortcut collapses playlists, but it'd be nice to have a shortcut to enter playlist view.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2019, 11:34 PM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 357
Default Re: Playlist soloing still lacking

Regarding #3: as long as your cursor is on the track, you can use Shift+Down Arrow (or Up) to cycle through playlists right? I'm not in front of my machine but I believe that works.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
HDX2 / OS X 10.12.6 / Mac Pro 2012 40GB RAM
ProTools Ultimate 2019.6
Avid OMNI+Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2019, 10:57 PM
metalmixer metalmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 220
Default Re: Playlist soloing still lacking

playlist soloing is the there
... and its been there for years
RTM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2019, 02:35 AM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 385
Default Re: Playlist soloing still lacking

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalmixer View Post
playlist soloing is the there
... and its been there for years
RTM
Never said it wasn't.
RTOP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2019, 09:29 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 385
Default Re: Playlist soloing still lacking

Shift-S playlist lane soloing works as it should in latch mode, but it should also work like that in X-OR mode. What's the point of soloing a playlist lane if it unsolos the track and then you can't hear it? I feel Avid must know this, since clicking on a playlist lane solo button in X-OR mode makes it work as in latch mode.

I.e., playlist lane soloing should always maintain the track solo status, regardless of X-OR or Latch mode, and regardless of clicking or using shift-S.

Meantime, is there a mod key for switching between latch and X-OR mode on the fly?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2019, 12:12 AM
bolooki bolooki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 92
Default Re: Playlist soloing still lacking

you might be able to toggle the X-Or / latch behavior using OSX keyboard shortcuts. Goto your computer settings/keyboard and setup a command for Protools app.

I usually just solo-lock the main track that I'm comping (when the solo button is greyed out and always engaged, I forget what that's called). that way solo behavior works as you want it to while soloing playlists.

it is redundant BUT please be careful what you wish for around here knowing the lack of updates- if you can work around it comfortably, I would do that instead. Avid may break the behavior you're used to and never fix it again. (ie the slip/grid toggle stupidity they implemented with command key while you're in slip mode!! still slows me down daily... this was definitely implemented wrong and done by someone who does not edit for a living...)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could use a shortcut for soloing the track while in a playlist lane jscomposer Pro Tools 12 13 11-07-2019 07:20 PM
In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking?? Protootr Pro Tools 2018 143 03-12-2019 10:12 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 09:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 07:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com