Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2014, 02:51 PM
100grit 100grit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
Default Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Just bought the upgrade from PT10. I'm about to finish my 9-song record (has to be done Dec 31, 2014) but am very concerned that everything will mess up if I install right now, meaning, losing active plugins, non smooth install etc. Maybe I should mix/master 100% save as WAV files and then install 11.3? Help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2014, 03:00 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,112
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Do you need to go to 11 to finish the project ?
If not… don't… finish project, then make the move at you leisure
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2014, 03:24 PM
100grit 100grit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

I don't need 11 to finish this project. I just wanted to see if 11 offered anything sonically to my existing PT10 sessions.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2014, 03:59 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Do you need to go to 11 to finish the project ?
If not… don't… finish project, then make the move at you leisure
Absolutely. PT11's advantages are really workflow-based anyway. Concentrate on the album, not on tech nightmares. You can have those on Jan 1st...
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2014, 04:44 PM
writeroxie writeroxie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 129
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Don't do it!
__________________
Protools 12.4.0 :: MacPro 5,1 "Westmere" 2x2.4gHz 8-core 32GB Ram
Sierra OS 10.12.6 :: Apogee Quartet
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:43 PM
100grit 100grit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

anyone wanna hear a short clip of one song?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:45 PM
wpawley wpawley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Leesburg, Ga
Posts: 88
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Sure, I'd love to hear some.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2014, 06:46 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,754
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100grit View Post
I don't need 11 to finish this project. I just wanted to see if 11 offered anything sonically to my existing PT10 sessions.....
Nope, no sonic advantage to 11. Stick with 10 until the mission critical workload is done, then upgrade when you have time to risk a few bumps in the road - there probably will be bumps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2014, 12:31 PM
Silent Sentinel Silent Sentinel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

I'm in the exact same boat (though my project can run into January or Feb). Was considering making the purchase and then waiting until after the album was done to install. Glad to hear I'm not the only one w/ the jitters...

Question though (when I get around to doing the PT11 install), if I'm already running PT10, can my existing install run alongside with PT11, or do I have to uninstall my current PT10 and install the the PT10/PT11 upgrade? I'm guessing the latter, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
~ Mark
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2014, 12:38 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: Too Frightened to Install 11.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Sentinel View Post
I'm in the exact same boat (though my project can run into January or Feb). Was considering making the purchase and then waiting until after the album was done to install. Glad to hear I'm not the only one w/ the jitters...

Question though (when I get around to doing the PT11 install), if I'm already running PT10, can my existing install run alongside with PT11, or do I have to uninstall my current PT10 and install the the PT10/PT11 upgrade? I'm guessing the latter, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
~ Mark
You should be able to leave your current install of PT10. Here is the approved Co-Install page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ll-Information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install PTHD 8.1.1 udater on Win7x64 and says valid install not found 8.0.3 is there rnygren Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 10-25-2014 10:58 PM
Pro Tools 10.3.2 wont even install! After clean windows 7 install!!! shamanrock Windows 13 12-27-2012 04:39 PM
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 07:23 AM
Can't install Pro Tools 8! Clean install, new system, Vista! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 01-09-2011 11:16 AM
Can't install Pro Tools LE - Insert disc but no option to install Paul McConnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-22-2010 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com