Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:50 PM
swansong swansong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Default Whats with this iLok thing?

Is it supposed to read the information in my computer and load in the iLok? Then I always have to have the iLok plugged in to access PTools? What is the purpose of this? This thing is busting my chops. Although I don't have internet connection on that computer yet (need CAT5 cable). Should I be on line for the installation of PTools? It has been asking for a confirmation key for a Broadband plugin and I don't have a card with the code! Does the iLok go to the site and pull it?
I know these questions seem really stupid, but I've been trying to install this program for several hours and am getting punchy....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:10 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...s/hotnews/ilok

http://www.digidesign.com/support/ilok/


Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2006, 11:37 AM
swansong swansong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

Thanks! I'll give it a go. I just don't remember an iLok credit card witht the packaging...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2006, 11:49 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

iLoks are pretty simple, there's not much to know. If you're still needing help, then you should be more specific about what plug-ins you're talking about, your posts are pretty vague so it's hard to know where you're coming from. You mention a 'broadband' plug-in... is this something you purchased recently? If not, it's possible that maybe you installed some plug-in demos along with your PT software, in which case you don't really have a license for them and having the iLok won't help unless you want to purchase those plug-ins. Again, it's hard to know b/c your posts don't really explain what's going on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2006, 07:00 PM
swansong swansong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

Quote:
iLoks are pretty simple, there's not much to know. If you're still needing help, then you should be more specific about what plug-ins you're talking about, your posts are pretty vague so it's hard to know where you're coming from. You mention a 'broadband' plug-in... is this something you purchased recently? If not, it's possible that maybe you installed some plug-in demos along with your PT software, in which case you don't really have a license for them and having the iLok won't help unless you want to purchase those plug-ins. Again, it's hard to know b/c your posts don't really explain what's going on.

When I start Pro Tools a dialog box opens up with something called Broadband Noise Reduction LE. It asks me to provide an authorization code. I don't have any idea of what Broadband Noise Reduction LE is. Is it bundled in Protools already in 6.9.2?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2006, 07:54 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

You must've installed some demos then, because that is part of DINR LE which is not a free plug-in.

Go to your plug-ins folder and pull out the plug-in called DINR LE, that should take care of the pop-up window.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:25 AM
swansong swansong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

Quote:
You must've installed some demos then, because that is part of DINR LE which is not a free plug-in.

Go to your plug-ins folder and pull out the plug-in called DINR LE, that should take care of the pop-up window.
Slim,
Thanks for the help! I'll give it a go ASAP..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:29 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

DINR LE is included with DVToolkit 1 and 2.
__________________
Done mixing:
Braxtons Family Values Season 5 (WeTV)
Now Mixing:
Cold Justice Season 4 (Oxygen Network)

IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:39 AM
saveortho saveortho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Whats with this iLok thing?

Hey swansong...

I am brand new to protools. I just got my digi 002 system last week. One thing I figured out, that is probably obvious to experienced users but confused the hell outta me, is that when you do the initial install of protools... there is a dialog box that opens and asks you what to install. There is a default choice... and there are other options you can check to install (Like MP3 option). One of those in there is athat Broadband plugin thing that pops up. I don't think it's listed as that name exactly.

So what I had to do is, at the advice of tech help (and this was still a fresh install), I uninstalled protools, erased all the plugins off the hard drive to make sure they were gone and reinstalled protools using ONLY the default selection. When you pick the other options, some (if not, all) of the other options are demos.. and you will be asked for a license everytime you start protools.

I think there is some documentation on Sweetwater.com that explain how to remove the demo plugin's w/ out doing a reinstall.

You might want to try that I suppose... but that is what I did.

Hope that kinda helps

-Brian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey Digi? Whats happened with the BF ilok auths???? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-30-2008 02:45 PM
iLok.com Whats $$$ for tech sup ??? roberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-12-2004 11:24 PM
Why do so many hate iLok...whats the scoop? AppleFunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-21-2004 09:58 AM
Whats the deal with Ilok ??? PEEL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-15-2003 08:42 PM
Full Time Music Production "Jay Ohh Bees" whats yours and whats it like... WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2002 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com