Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2020, 10:34 PM
TruestPain TruestPain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Providence, RI (UNITED STATES)
Posts: 203
Default Looking to upgrade, PT12, laptop workstation, interface

I'm looking to upgrade my work station to a mobile/portable unit. My guess is to continue sticking with mac so i'm sure you're going to tell me go with a Mac Book Pro and i'm all ears. I just need some help with identifying some critical specs, obviously I want the hard drive space, RAM, graphics card, processing power, etc. I'm a bit perplexed with trying to find out if PT 12 can be purchased as its stand alone software? I've enjoyed PT10 for this long and thats currently on my desktop rig but am looking to transition into a more mobile unit and maybe retiring the older rig.

My budget for a work station (laptop) is not to exceed 2k/2.5kish, maybe with some wiggle room obviously the cheaper the better if I can just upgrade certain features in the future. Would have to come with thunderbolt 3 as a connector. What OS is safe for PT12? (we all know how flimsy PT and OS's can be).

If you are familiar please include the specs relating to a Apolo Twin X interface.

Laptop specs, OS version?

Pt12 ?

Apollo Twin X?
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/truestpain
http://www.reverbnation.com/truestpain
http://www.soundclick.com/truestpain4eva
http://www.facebook.com/truestpain

Mac Mini OSX Mountain Lion 10.8, 2.6 ghz, 8gbRAM, i7 Quad Core, Pro Tools 10.3.5, MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2020, 07:46 AM
patpat22 patpat22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Looking to upgrade, PT12, laptop workstation, interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruestPain View Post
I'm looking to upgrade my work station to a mobile/portable unit. My guess is to continue sticking with mac so i'm sure you're going to tell me go with a Mac Book Pro and i'm all ears. I just need some help with identifying some critical specs, obviously I want the hard drive space, RAM, graphics card, processing power, etc. I'm a bit perplexed with trying to find out if PT 12 can be purchased as its stand alone software? I've enjoyed PT10 for this long and thats currently on my desktop rig but am looking to transition into a more mobile unit and maybe retiring the older rig.

My budget for a work station (laptop) is not to exceed 2k/2.5kish, maybe with some wiggle room obviously the cheaper the better if I can just upgrade certain features in the future. Would have to come with thunderbolt 3 as a connector. What OS is safe for PT12? (we all know how flimsy PT and OS's can be).

If you are familiar please include the specs relating to a Apolo Twin X interface.

Laptop specs, OS version?

Pt12 ?

Apollo Twin X?

Why do you prefer using Mac? I am just curious. My brother don't want to switch neither and I just can't understand that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2020, 08:03 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,835
Default Re: Looking to upgrade, PT12, laptop workstation, interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by patpat22 View Post
Why do you prefer using Mac? I am just curious. My brother don't want to switch neither and I just can't understand that.
Mostly because the MacBook Pro(of proper spec) will work(as long as OS and PT versions are compatible), when a PC laptop is a total crapshoot when it comes to compatibility. If you can get an exact model and spec on a known-good PC, that's great(but a lot of folks just go buy something that fits a budget, and then find out they have big compatibility issues). Granted, it has gotten better in recent years
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2020, 09:48 PM
TruestPain TruestPain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Providence, RI (UNITED STATES)
Posts: 203
Default Re: Looking to upgrade, PT12, laptop workstation, interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by patpat22 View Post
Why do you prefer using Mac? I am just curious. My brother don't want to switch neither and I just can't understand that.
Basically for stability purposes, I would think. However, if there is a PC that has equivalent specs im all for it. Unfortunately, PC lacks the compatibility for thunderbolt 3 and there is an interface I want that is thunderbolt 3 and I dont want to daisy chain - that would defeat the purpose.


Also, i've been doing a hell of a lot of research and due to the unneccessary search and questionnaires and trying to match every spec to make sure that there are the least or no compatibility worries with setting up with pro-tools, I think im just going to have to end my days with pro tools and head over to Logic Pro and get familiar with a new DAW.

I hate to say it.... Pro Tools is incredibly frustrating to work with, set up and have to find compatibility specs that rides with in an acceptable price range. Its bad enough that you're going to pay for a work station thats hovering between 2k and 4k if you really want the power and productivity.

Pro Tools, i'll keep on the main rig for now until all of those sessions are finished up and exported out and if i have to transfer some into a new DAW, so be it. I think i've made a decision to move on from this place.


Thanks for the information, its been fun. I've been a pro tools user since 2013. Cheers.
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/truestpain
http://www.reverbnation.com/truestpain
http://www.soundclick.com/truestpain4eva
http://www.facebook.com/truestpain

Mac Mini OSX Mountain Lion 10.8, 2.6 ghz, 8gbRAM, i7 Quad Core, Pro Tools 10.3.5, MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Workstation and Avid 10/11 Native software's compatibility luca.agnoletti@yahoo.com Windows 0 02-25-2019 10:45 AM
Workstation and audio interface through Pro Tools khancock6 Pro Tools 12 9 08-08-2017 06:51 AM
Laptop Tracking Workstation Recommendations? dstryrwiz Windows 5 06-16-2011 04:46 PM
Laptop Audio Workstation dstryrwiz Windows 0 06-07-2011 09:37 AM
Issues using Protools 7.3.1 on HP nw 9440 workstation laptop proactive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-11-2008 04:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com