Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:26 PM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Default HDX Card Benefits w/o Digilink I/O Connected?

Hi, I’m waiting on some digilink I/O to arrive but continuing to work with my AES coreaudio interfaces in PT Ultimate. I’ve installed my HDX card, upgraded it’s firmware, and purchased my DigiLink license....is my HDX card doing anything right now (like AAX/DSP plugs) or is it really just sitting idle right now until something gets connected to it and my machine continues to act like a Native box?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,980
Default Re: HDX Card Benefits w/o Digilink I/O Connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spindrift300 View Post
Hi, I’m waiting on some digilink I/O to arrive but continuing to work with my AES coreaudio interfaces in PT Ultimate. I’ve installed my HDX card, upgraded it’s firmware, and purchased my DigiLink license....is my HDX card doing anything right now (like AAX/DSP plugs) or is it really just sitting idle right now until something gets connected to it and my machine continues to act like a Native box?

Thanks.
Nope. Ya need an interface box so you can make it the playback engine.

You can look at the systems usage meters to see the DSP resources not being used... you may want to have a read about that now to understand the practical DSP and voice resource consumption and how to look at that usage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:44 PM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Default Re: HDX Card Benefits w/o Digilink I/O Connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Nope. Ya need an interface box so you can make it the playback engine.

You can look at the systems usage meters to see the DSP resources not being used... you may want to have a read about that now to understand the practical DSP and voice resource consumption and how to look at that usage.
Right on Darryl. Thanks for the info. I’ll check out the manual for that info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I be sure that Accel Card is well connected? critictalk Getting Started 5 07-25-2013 02:29 AM
Lynx Aurora 16 HD (w/ LT-HD card) + free 12' Digilink Cable - $2250 SHIRK Buy & Sell 0 06-01-2013 07:38 AM
Benefits of a Sound card in my SONY VIAO & Pro Too rOckstar86 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-15-2006 11:30 AM
2x 1622 interfaces connected with Y-Cable to a single MIXFARM card? Is it possible ? ste72 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-15-2003 07:46 AM
Can the 001 i/o-box be connected to a TDM-MIx card? Huby SEA Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-03-2000 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com