Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2019, 04:09 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 106
Default Mac Pro 3,1+Pro Tools 10HD Cpu Power For Rtas

Hi all
anybody done some test about
the number of Rtas plug ins or instruments
can be loaded on
Mac Pro 3,1-16GB Ram + Pro Tools 10HD ?

thanks for any info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2019, 07:52 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,608
Default Re: Mac Pro 3,1+Pro Tools 10HD Cpu Power For Rtas

No test would be valid as the amount of power varies widely between plugins. IOW, you might be able to run 48 EQ plugins, but 3 reverb plugins might require the same power. Best to just dive in and load up a session that is typical of your usual work. Its also worth noting that your setup is considered somewhat "ancient" in the world of computers and DAW's
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2019, 09:12 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 603
Default Re: Mac Pro 3,1+Pro Tools 10HD Cpu Power For Rtas

HD10 is also limited to addressing 4gig of ram too, which will have a huge impact on performance if any of those plugins are sample based virtual instruments.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
s3 pro tools 10HD kiwiaudio Pro Tools 10 0 07-05-2015 05:31 PM
Dly red in Pro Tools 10HD?? Raoul23 Pro Tools 10 14 10-06-2014 11:23 AM
Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay) Concept Chelia Pro Tools 10 7 09-12-2014 04:01 AM
Pro Tools 10HD and 5.1 clunystudios macOS 7 01-07-2014 05:43 AM
Pro tools 10 to 10HD? djmichaelwenz Pro Tools 10 3 09-15-2012 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com