Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Old 11-19-2013, 11:12 AM

Default Eleven Rack communication issues under OSX 10.9

I recently installed PT 11.0.3 under Mac OSX 10.9. I have been using the 003 and eleven rack with no issues for several years. I am now getting the following message when launching protools. Immediately after seeing the “getting number of plugins” dialog, I get this: “ communication with the eleven rack has experienced an error. Would you like to reconnect?”. Clicking yes brings up the previous error message and the Eleven Rack is not recognized in protools. In system preferences, I see both the 003 and the Eleven Rack, all correct settings.
It appears to be random, sometimes it can connect and sometimes it cant.
I recently upgraded to PT 11.0.3 on a Mac, as follows: Under OSX 10.8.5, I uninstalled the drivers for both the eleven rack and the 003 interface. I then installed Mavericks 10.9 OS. I then installed the latest drivers for the Eleven Rack (1.2) and the 003 (11.1). I did a clean uninstall of Protools and then installed PT 11.0.3.
My system is configured as follows: I have an Apogee Rosetta 800 connected to the 003 optically. The Eleven Rack is connected to the computer USB and to the 003 with spdif cables, both in and out. The 003 is selected in the playback engine dialog, external clock ADAT 48k. 003 is selected in Hardware settings and the Eleven Rack is set to external clock (SPDIF) in system prefs. I power up the Rosetta first, then the Eleven Rack, the 003 and then boot the computer.