Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2012, 05:52 PM
TiRax TiRax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: france
Posts: 7
Default Avid artist control disconnect

Hi everyone, sorry but my english isn't very good.
So, i've just purchased an artist control. And it's not very simple to use.
When i open logic pro, the control works during few seconds and next it disconnect.
Ethernet cable is direct plug in the macbook pro.
I work with lion, is it the problem?
I've already try the avid solution in the FAQ about direct connecting. Change manually the networks setting, Change the static IP on the controler but nothing.
It's not normal to happen your life on a forum to use an avid product.
Oh, the word "avide" in french can be translate by "greedy" in english, it is not funny?

Please help meeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!

thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2012, 01:20 AM
Mike Thornton's Avatar
Mike Thornton Mike Thornton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 390
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

Try this...
It is best to connect them via your Ethernet router and use the DCHP server in it to automatically allocate IP addresses to any of your Artist Series devices, but you can connect an Artist series device direct to a computer with nothing more than a crossover Ethernet cable which comes bundled with each Artist controller. If you have a PC you must use a crossover cable to connect the Artist device to your computer. A recent Mac will auto-sense and so can cope with a straight-through or crossover cable but PCs are not generally blessed with this feature.

If you do ‘direct connect’ then it is best to configure the Ethernet port and the Artist Series device and allocate them both manual IP addresses.

Choose an IP address like 192.168.0.1 for the computer by using Manual configuartion in the Network Preference Pane and then selecting your Ethernet port.

Set the IP address to 192.168.0.2 for the Artist series device. You can do this by holding down both Page buttons and turning on the device, the display will show a ticked checkbox against “Use DHCP (Obtain IP Address automatically)” uncheck it and click OK and then set the IP address using the highlighted rotary encoder.

Don’t forget to set the Subnet Mask on both devices to 255.255.255.0.

Once you have manually configured both the Artist device and your computer the Eucon software should find the Artist Device and link up to it.

However the simplest method is to use a router with DCHP enables and then all the IP addresses and Subnet Masks automatically and the link up process is made much simpler.
__________________
Mike Thornton MIPS
Audio Meister and Editor of Pro Tools Expert
www.pro-tools-expert.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2012, 04:14 AM
TiRax TiRax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: france
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

Thanks a lot, i followed your explications. Now the connection between the controller and eucon soft is faster but the controller ever disconected after 10 sec when i go to logic.
I'try to connect with ableton live too. I've drag live app in th eucon settings, put the mackie control protocol, restart my computer. But when i open live, it's worst than in logic, there is a connection but i can't control anything.

What's the [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ing problem?
Is a hub the solution?

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:55 PM
TiRax TiRax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: france
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

The small E of the eucon soft is not green. It goes from grey to dark black when the controller is connected. Is it normal?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2012, 12:32 AM
Mike Thornton's Avatar
Mike Thornton Mike Thornton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 390
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

The E icon in the menu bar goes dark grey when it is connected. I only have experience of the Artist Series in Pro Tools. But have you looked at Tthe Eucon Settings application? If you click on the E icon, a sub menu pops out saying Eucon Settings, if you click on that you will see the Eucon Settings window appear with a number of tabs. In conjunction with the manuals, and there is one which covers how to set up with other applications you should be able to work it out.
__________________
Mike Thornton MIPS
Audio Meister and Editor of Pro Tools Expert
www.pro-tools-expert.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2012, 06:16 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,483
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiRax View Post
The small E of the eucon soft is not green. It goes from grey to dark black when the controller is connected. Is it normal?
Yes. light grey is disconnected. Black is connected.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2012, 10:45 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 553
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

I've experienced this and it was due to streaming a lot of data over the network.. I stopped the stream and was able to resume
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2012, 02:11 AM
TiRax TiRax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: france
Posts: 7
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

thank you but i get it back to the shop and i purchase a mackie control controller. Thanks you avid to build a product so easy to use.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:11 AM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 157
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

... and he is absolutely right. I've been having the same problems with the latest version of PT and the latest version of the firmware and EuCon, on Snow Leopard 10.6.8.

I think this is ridiculous. There are so many obvious issues with the software, and to summarise them in one word, it is: unreliable.

shame for all the sweat that has gone into the hardware.

here
DCHP off. Macbook at 10.2.2.1, Artist Control at 10.2.2.2. Netmask at 255.255.255.0

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:14:28 EuControl[15285] CoreText: Invalid 'kern' Subtable In CTFont <name: MetaKorrespondenz-Bold, size: 26.000000, matrix: 0x0>
CTFontDescriptor <attributes: <CFBasicHash 0x25099d0 [0xa08d3ec0]>{type = mutable dict, count = 1,
entries =>
1 : <CFString 0xa090ed78 [0xa08d3ec0]>{contents = "NSFontNameAttribute"} = <CFString 0x23080f0 [0xa08d3ec0]>{contents = "MetaKorrespondenz-Bold"}
}
>
14/06/2012 14:14:28 EuControl[15285] EuControl finished launching...
14/06/2012 14:14:28 EuControl[15285] Starting EuCon...
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] TAO (15289|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] TAO (15289|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] TAO (15289|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] TAO (15289|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:14:33 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Running MC Client...
14/06/2012 14:14:48 [0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289] Ping Task Starting...
14/06/2012 14:15:39 mDNSResponder[23] Bad service type in ._EuConProxyDevice._tcp.local. Application protocol name must be underscore plus 1-15 characters. See <http://www.dns-sd.org/ServiceTypes.html>
14/06/2012 14:15:39 mDNSResponder[23] Bad service type in ._EuConProxyDevice._tcp.local. Application protocol name must be underscore plus 1-15 characters. See <http://www.dns-sd.org/ServiceTypes.html>
14/06/2012 14:15:41 EuControl[15285] Newest version: 71833
14/06/2012 14:15:41 EuControl[15285] Newer version availble? No
enabling DHCP on both without restarting EuCon

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:17:31 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link down on en0
14/06/2012 14:17:31 configd[20] network configuration changed.
14/06/2012 14:17:43 Apple80211 framework[15212] ACInterfaceGetPower called with NULL interface
14/06/2012 14:17:43 SCHelper[15335] no command
14/06/2012 14:17:50 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link up on en0, 100-Megabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control, Debug [796d,0300,0de1,0300,41e1,0000]
14/06/2012 14:17:51 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link down on en0
14/06/2012 14:17:53 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link up on en0, 100-Megabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control, Debug [796d,0300,0de1,0300,41e1,0000]
then clicking on the grey E

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:18:02 EuControl[15285] Posting preferences...
14/06/2012 14:18:02 EuControl[15285] Could not connect the action setAutoTestSubstring: to target of class SurfacesTabView
14/06/2012 14:18:06 EuControl[15285] Unknown class SoftKeyEditorScrollView in Interface Builder file at path /Applications/Euphonix/EuControl.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/PrefsUserSet.nib.
Network error window appears
Attempting to attach device, no success. Network error window again.

Quit EuControl

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:20:42 EuControl[15285] EuControl exiting...
14/06/2012 14:20:42 EuControl[15285] Stopping EuCon...
14/06/2012 14:20:42 EuControl[15285] EuTabView stopping updates...
14/06/2012 14:20:45 mDNSResponder[23] Bad service type in ._EuConProxyDevice._tcp.local. Application protocol name must be underscore plus 1-15 characters. See <http://www.dns-sd.org/ServiceTypes.html>
14/06/2012 14:20:46 [0x0-0x22c22c].com.Euphonix.EuControl[15285] No registry value found for EuCon ORB timeout
14/06/2012 14:20:46 [0x0-0x22c22c].com.Euphonix.EuControl[15285] Setting EuCon ORB timeout to: 10000ms (10.0 seconds)
14/06/2012 14:20:46 [0x0-0x22c22c].com.Euphonix.EuControl[15285] postRemoteInjectionNotification - False (callback? - NOT installed)
14/06/2012 14:20:46 [0x0-0x22c22c].com.Euphonix.EuControl[15285] postRemoteInjectionNotification - False (callback? - NOT installed)
14/06/2012 14:20:46 [0x0-0x22c22c].com.Euphonix.EuControl[15285] TAP: Tap disable by timeout
Quit MC_Client from Activity Monitor (not Force Quit)
Quote:
14/06/2012 14:22:35 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[129] ([0x0-0x22d22d].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15289]) Exited: Terminated
Cycle artist control power
Quote:
14/06/2012 14:23:06 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link down on en0
14/06/2012 14:23:07 configd[20] network configuration changed.
14/06/2012 14:23:33 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link up on en0, 100-Megabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control, Debug [796d,0300,0de1,0300,41e1,0000]
14/06/2012 14:23:34 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link down on en0
14/06/2012 14:23:36 kernel Ethernet [AppleBCM5701Ethernet]: Link up on en0, 100-Megabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control, Debug [796d,0300,0de1,0300,41e1,0000]
Launch EuControl

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:23:54 EuControl[15402] CoreText: Invalid 'kern' Subtable In CTFont <name: MetaKorrespondenz-Bold, size: 26.000000, matrix: 0x0>
CTFontDescriptor <attributes: <CFBasicHash 0x22094a0 [0xa08d3ec0]>{type = mutable dict, count = 1,
entries =>
1 : <CFString 0xa090ed78 [0xa08d3ec0]>{contents = "NSFontNameAttribute"} = <CFString 0x176f160 [0xa08d3ec0]>{contents = "MetaKorrespondenz-Bold"}
}
>
14/06/2012 14:23:54 EuControl[15402] EuControl finished launching...
14/06/2012 14:23:54 EuControl[15402] Starting EuCon...
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] TAO (15405|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] TAO (15405|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] TAO (15405|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] TAO (15405|2686752064) Warning: Resource_Factory options ignored
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Default Resource Factory is disabled
14/06/2012 14:23:59 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Running MC Client...
14/06/2012 14:24:15 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] Ping Task Starting...
14/06/2012 14:24:15 /Applications/Euphonix/MC_Client.app/Contents/MacOS/MC_Client[15405] _RegisterApplication(), FAILED TO REGISTER PROCESS WITH CPS/CoreGraphics in WindowServer, err=-50
14/06/2012 14:24:15 [0x0-0x231231].com.Euphonix.MC_Client[15405] _RegisterApplication(), FAILED TO REGISTER PROCESS WITH CPS/CoreGraphics in WindowServer, err=-50
(spinning E)

Quote:
14/06/2012 14:25:05 mDNSResponder[23] Bad service type in ._EuConProxyDevice._tcp.local. Application protocol name must be underscore plus 1-15 characters. See <http://www.dns-sd.org/ServiceTypes.html>
14/06/2012 14:25:05 mDNSResponder[23] Bad service type in ._EuConProxyDevice._tcp.local. Application protocol name must be underscore plus 1-15 characters. See <http://www.dns-sd.org/ServiceTypes.html>
14/06/2012 14:25:08 EuControl[15402] Newest version: 71833
.. and so at this point there is no application name at the top left corner of the touch screen.
I've tried reinstalling, trashing preferences, everything other than restarting the computer (which I'm totally unwilling to do on a daily basis, just to get this one device working)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2012, 07:28 AM
lberrios1962 lberrios1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 70
Default Re: Avid artist control disconnect

I had the same problem for almost two months (besides few others) and at the end I returned back to the seller (Sweetwater) and got a Mackie MCU PRO with 2 extenders, the same set up I had before the Artist Control and Protools its working perfect now with the Mackie.

The Avid department that is in charge of the Artist series it's not the same department of Protools. It is a sub-contractor company and I spoke with one of them and based on his testimony they dont have enough people to handle the tech support. There is only one guy answering the phone.

BTW, there are a lot of typos in the Artist Control manual especially in the part that is about static IP address. One of them is the static IP address listed in the manual for the computer and the control, so do not use the static IP address that is in the manual to connect the control to your computer, its wrong.
__________________
ASUS P9X79 DELUXE, Intel i7 3930K, 32GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator, 2 SATA 1TB 64MB HD, CORSAIR H80 Liquid Cooler.
Mac mini 2.3GHz Quad Core Intel i7, 16GB memory, 1TB Fusion drive, 1TB Thunderbolt external HD.....Running PT11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control + Logic problems. matthihat Artist Series 4 02-03-2019 12:37 AM
How to bypass plug-ins on Avid Artist Control? ryanstewartguitar Artist Series 2 12-18-2013 01:41 PM
Controlling plug-ins with Avid Artist Mix + Control ryanstewartguitar Artist Series 2 11-07-2013 01:07 AM
Avid Artist Control vs Euphonix MC Control? DAWgEAR Artist Series 3 10-22-2012 07:10 AM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com