Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2014, 05:55 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default Is delay compensation necessary for Master Fader on Main Outs?

When mixing down, is it necessary to use delay compensation for plugins on the master fader? I have a few favorites that are pretty high latency - forcing larger playback buffer setting than I would normally use. I'm wondering whether it would be ok to simply disable delay compensation on the master bus and use my normal playback buffer size.

I'm talking about mixdown only - not tracking - with all track outputs being sent to the main outputs. I've tried both ways and it seems to work fine without. It seems to make sense - any thoughts?

-dan
__________________
Pro Tools 11.1.2 | Mac OSX 10.9.2
RME Ray-DAT | SSL Alpha-Link AX
Intel Core i7 990X @ 3.60GHz
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 rev 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2014, 05:57 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,572
Default Re: Is delay compensation necessary for Master Fader on Main Outs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinTaper View Post
When mixing down, is it necessary to use delay compensation for plugins on the master fader? I have a few favorites that are pretty high latency - forcing larger playback buffer setting than I would normally use. I'm wondering whether it woulkd be ok to simply disable delay compensation on the master bus and use my normal playback buffer size.

I'm talking about mixdown only - not tracking - with all track outputs being sent to the main outputs. I've tried both ways and it seems to work fine without. It seems to make sense - any thoughts?

-dan
Hi,

No you can disable delay comp on the mix bus and master fader etc!

if using video in the session you might need to use it!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Compensation on Master? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-19-2011 12:10 PM
Delay Compensation + Master Track twix Pro Tools 9 10 08-27-2011 03:52 PM
Manual Delay Compensation on Master Fader? browniespeaks Tips & Tricks 11 05-05-2010 10:34 AM
Plugins on Master Fader or Main Mixdown Track studioslave77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 12-20-2007 12:02 PM
Delay Compensation on Master Fader musicnutt2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-12-2006 04:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com