Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2013, 04:47 PM
Lou21 Lou21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US
Posts: 17
Default Trouble Hooking up MIDI into Pro Tools

Hello all,

I have a question. I was trying to hook up and set up my MIDI with pro tools by watching this vid tutorial and things seemed to go well, but when I got to the part where I have to open the mix window to arm up the tracks, I am getting nothing on the mix window. The tracks spaces appear but in blank. Can anyone tell me why and how can I fix this?

My MIDI is an Akai MPK 25

Thank you in advance!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpBYoOzvRmk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2013, 05:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,926
Default Re: Trouble Hooking up MIDI into Pro Tools

Here is what works for me. In Pro Tools, go to Setup>Midi>Midi Studio. In this window you need to set up your controller as a midi "instrument". Choose Create Instrument and name it MPK(or whatever you like). The next 2 settings(brand and model) are not required. The midi port for input IS the crucial setting. It would likely be called "AkaiUSB" or something like that. If you don't find anything in that list that corresponds to the Akai, maybe you need a driver. Once that's done and closed, create a stereo instrument track and insert your VI plugin in the top-most insert slot(slot A)(I would insert MiniGrand for testing). Hit the record-enable button on the track and play the keyboard. You SHOULD be hearing piano
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2013, 07:55 AM
Lou21 Lou21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US
Posts: 17
Default Re: Trouble Hooking up MIDI into Pro Tools

Thanks so much albee, I did not see this until now. I wasn't receiving email notifications when someone replied to me. I'm still not receiving them, even though I believe I put on the right settings for it. Anyway, thank you for your reply. I got to work out the initial MIDI hook up by watching tutorials, and got to start recording and editing, but now I have encountered a new problem...

For some reason I don't understand, I got at least 3 aux inputs for 3 different tracks that are not working; chorus track, harmony for chorus track and a guitar track. For some reason, they are not going through their own aux input that I created with each track, they are going through the aux input I created for the verses and pre-chorus track and it's causing distortion. This aux eventually goes to red. Have you ever come across anything like this? I'm considering starting all over

Thanks in advance for any help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 on Win 8. USB midi trouble. Tmax Windows 2 01-25-2014 09:46 PM
Hooking up USB midi controller in pro tools LE 8 questions kriskuenzler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 08-10-2010 12:50 PM
trouble editing midi in pro tools le marllee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-02-2007 09:49 AM
MIDI trouble with pro tools 6.4 Robster MIDI 12 01-18-2006 03:31 PM
trouble with midi and pro tools 6.9, help ! :) catfishblues MIDI 0 05-10-2005 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com