Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:14 AM
Aquarius Aquarius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: City Of Lights
Posts: 600
Default VCA group : please explain..

Hi,

I've never used a "large forrmat console" so my understanding of VCA groups / faders is very little.
Could someone please chime in to explain the whole story ?
What use would it be in my sessions ?
Why is it different from groups as we knew it with PT ?
Cheers,
A
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:37 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,506
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Hi,

A quick explanation..

With VCA faders you can assign them to track groups and control the volume and mute of those tracks regardless of their output assignments. it will simple control the volume and mute for any tracks assigned to the group, so group your tracks together as you normally would and then assign the VCA to control that group.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:15 AM
Aquarius Aquarius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: City Of Lights
Posts: 600
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Hi Chris,

I was wondering something like that : thank you !
But...Imagine you have your tracks grouped and assigned to a sub Bus aux track :
What then is the difference with the VCA ? I know VCA don't pass audio, nor use PI ?
Should I then have to control that sub Bus aux track with VCA.
Also, It's not clear what the VCA meter show ? PT manual says it's the louder signal amplitude...
Cheers,
A
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:37 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,506
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Quote:
Hi Chris,

I was wondering something like that : thank you !
But...Imagine you have your tracks grouped and assigned to a sub Bus aux track :
What then is the difference with the VCA ? I know VCA don't pass audio, nor use PI ?
Should I then have to control that sub Bus aux track with VCA.
Also, It's not clear what the VCA meter show ? PT manual says it's the louder signal amplitude...
Cheers,
A
Hi,

If the tracks/group etc is assigned to a common bus, then there is no real advantage to using a VCA fader, unless you want to trim all tracks levels by a common amount etc and stuff like that! or you want to adjust tracks plus the sends when set to post fader. we'll all find ways to use this new feature

The new VCA faders are going to be a blessing to those who mix out of the box!? as they will be able to adjust volume/mute grouped tracks that are all assigned to different outputs and fed to an analogue or digital console etc.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2006, 12:09 PM
Produce_Dept Produce_Dept is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: AZ / NY
Posts: 146
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

The meter on the VCA will display the highest signal in the VCA group's level.
If all the members of the VCA groups have the same track number (ie stereo, mono, or surround) than the VCA will have meters with the same configuration.
If there are many different track configurations (more than one) it will default to a mono meter.

If my memory serves me!
__________________
Kurt Bullock
PT 7.4 HD2Accel Digi ProControl
G5 Dual 2.7 3.5gig RAM OS10.4.8
www.zeropointrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:21 PM
tlester tlester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 549
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Quote:
Hi,

A quick explanation..

With VCA faders you can assign them to track groups and control the volume and mute of those tracks regardless of their output assignments. it will simple control the volume and mute for any tracks assigned to the group, so group your tracks together as you normally would and then assign the VCA to control that group.

Chris
And I'm assuming since it's digital, it'll happen without the "ugliness" of the actual VCA in the signal path!!!

-Tom
__________________
http://SpeakRecords.COM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:42 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,506
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Quote:
Quote:
Hi,

A quick explanation..

With VCA faders you can assign them to track groups and control the volume and mute of those tracks regardless of their output assignments. it will simple control the volume and mute for any tracks assigned to the group, so group your tracks together as you normally would and then assign the VCA to control that group.

Chris
And I'm assuming since it's digital, it'll happen without the "ugliness" of the actual VCA in the signal path!!!

-Tom
Hi,

Call it CCA code controlled amplifier

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:50 PM
Peter Duemmler Peter Duemmler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Neuwied, Germany
Posts: 780
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Thr greatest advantage of VCA groups over normal subgroups to me is that they control the tracks´ level, not the group level.
Because of that the tracks´ post fader aux sends will be affected by the VCA groups level.

Peter
__________________
http://www.merlinsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2006, 03:24 PM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Is there any resource we can go to to better understand this new feature?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:20 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: VCA group : please explain..

Couple 'o things regarding the new VCAs....

VCA tracks use NO mixer plug-in resources (instead of having to use busses and aux tracks for a sub group output control, which DOES use mixer plug-in resources).

VCA are their own new track type (duh!) which can be displayed by themselves, (and/or have their members 'spilled') onto ICON controllers. Very powerful.

They come in tremendous benefit after your group members relative automation rides have been written, as in the final mix stage you can show your VCA's only and get that final overall levels (Drums, Bass, GTRs, VOX groups) while keeping the relative automation rides/offsets of the group members.


Enjoy!

-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone please explain.... Terry Wetzel Pro Tools 9 2 12-12-2011 05:02 PM
Can somebody please explain? chicken macOS 2 10-31-2011 03:07 AM
1 track in group isn't responding with group! gregwor macOS 7 01-25-2011 08:22 PM
Could someone explain me something about ADC please? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-21-2008 05:14 PM
Group Persists for Resizing Even When Group Turned Off. holden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2008 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com