Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2019, 09:41 PM
txlonelystar txlonelystar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 5
Default Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

I'm getting an error message in the middle of my sessions that forces me to quit. Just started tonight for no apparent reason.

The message reads: "Error, missing PACE authorization for 'Pro Tools'. Please insert your iLok or re-connect to your cloud session in the next 5 minutes or you must save and quit."

All my licenses should be current. They appear to be when I look at my Avid Account page.

I've seen something about this happening depending on Internet connection, but I am working with a wired/Ethernet connection. There are no Internet disruptions.

All iLok licenses show as current, and the iLok is connected to the computer.

The error message says to reconnect the iLok, but even when I do that, same error message. I have tried restarting the computer, same error message.

I need my to get my sessions back up and running. ???

As for Tech Specs...

*Windows 10 Home
*32GB RAM
*64-bit Operating System
*3.4ghz Processor
*ProTools Online Subscription (latest version, 2018.12 I think?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2019, 09:58 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Faulty iLok?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,433
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Ilok HATES USB3 ports so many of us have a USB2 hub for iloks as these little plastic POS iloks are like whiny babies sometimes

Also make sure you dont have any sleep functions active so the USB ports goes into sleepmode every 5 minutes as that feels consistant with a faulty setting.

We are Mac users only in the studio so I have no idea where to look at the settings but it can’t be too hard to figure out otherwise someone on PC will chime in and let us know where to change that setting if it is on.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2019, 05:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,952
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Ilok HATES USB3 ports so many of us have a USB2 hub for iloks as these little plastic POS iloks are like whiny babies sometimes

Also make sure you dont have any sleep functions active so the USB ports goes into sleepmode every 5 minutes as that feels consistant with a faulty setting.

We are Mac users only in the studio so I have no idea where to look at the settings but it can’t be too hard to figure out otherwise someone on PC will chime in and let us know where to change that setting if it is on.
From Microsoft: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...c-1b552b01b4ed
For USB ports specifically go to Device Manager in Control panel. When the Device Manager window opens, expand the Universal Serial Bus controllers branch, then right-click the USB Root Hub device and select Properties. Click the Power Management tab. If you want USB ports to keep supplying power uncheck “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power“.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2019, 08:23 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,216
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

And best to check all the items Under USB Controllers and check them again after any Windows update as sometimes the settings revert.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:23 PM
txlonelystar txlonelystar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 5
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Faulty iLok?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Certainly possible, but how I would I test it?

One thing that makes me think it's not the iLok is that it will allow me to open a session via the Cloud, and it'll let me work for 5-10min, but then it kicks me out again. If it was the iLok, it seems like it wouldn't even be able to start?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:25 PM
txlonelystar txlonelystar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 5
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Ilok HATES USB3 ports so many of us have a USB2 hub for iloks as these little plastic POS iloks are like whiny babies sometimes

Also make sure you dont have any sleep functions active so the USB ports goes into sleepmode every 5 minutes as that feels consistant with a faulty setting.

We are Mac users only in the studio so I have no idea where to look at the settings but it can’t be too hard to figure out otherwise someone on PC will chime in and let us know where to change that setting if it is on.
How can I tell if it is USB3? Are those the ones with the blue inside?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:30 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,433
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by txlonelystar View Post
How can I tell if it is USB3? Are those the ones with the blue inside?
The USB3 ports on your motherboard should be listed in info about the computer.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:46 PM
txlonelystar txlonelystar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 5
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
The USB3 ports on your motherboard should be listed in info about the computer.
Is that in Device Manager?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2019, 02:12 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,433
Default Re: Getting PACE/Authorization Error For No Discernible Reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by txlonelystar View Post
Is that in Device Manager?
Cant tell you as we never use PC here but you can use google to research your model as you need to know what you have and learn those things for future info members would need if you have any problems later on.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Missing PACE Authorization" error when I lose Wi-Fi connection hill1006 Pro Tools 2018 10 08-30-2018 10:51 AM
Missing PACE Authorization for Pro Tools CalebCuzner Pro Tools 2018 2 04-03-2018 07:17 AM
Is there any discernible difference between HD Native PCIe & Thunderbolt? LDS macOS 1 07-14-2014 06:21 AM
PT 9: Won't Launch + Pace Error yeluhz_strongs Pro Tools 9 37 04-12-2011 06:04 PM
TPkd error & pace error trying to install that too rost 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-04-2008 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com