Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2008, 03:19 PM
Clockwork Studio Clockwork Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default PT crashing on session open

I am running PTLE 7.4, and just recently I am having problems with sessions crashing the software when I open a session. I have had some ongoing projects where I will start a session and get all the tracking done, and the next day when I'm doing the mix, the session will get to the point where it opens, and the software goes down. I had never had this problem up until a few weeks ago. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:37 PM
Clockwork Studio Clockwork Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT crashing on session open

Also, this started happening after I made the power harness swap if that helps anyone diagnose.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:56 PM
Clockwork Studio Clockwork Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT crashing on session open

Any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2008, 05:11 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,647
Default Re: PT crashing on session open

You should start with the steps in the Win XP/ Pro Tools 6.x/7.x General Troubleshooting thread and post specific info on your system per the info on that thread if you're unable to resolve the problem.

You may want to look at the Help us help you thread as well.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:11 AM
burnt burnt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT crashing on session open

I have the same problem. When loading a session, the pro tools suddenly disappears. Pro tools version is 7.4cs3, computer is Lenovo T61, two gig of ram with lacie FW800 PCMCIA card. Some day it will open most sessions ok, but some sessions just won't start. Next day the same "problem-session" will open suddenly ok, but when I close it, the same thing happens again. I have done every step what troubleshooting thread suggests. One thing I do different, is that I hook my Lacie Firewire drive to digi002, so my chain is computer->digi002->FW drive. Tonight I'll try connecting the drive directly to the computer. Is it a problem to connect FW drive using FW800 port, because there's only one FW400 port in computer?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:26 AM
Teolin Teolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 200
Default Re: PT crashing on session open

I was having similar problems and found that removing Massey demo plugs from the active plugin folder solved the problem.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.4
HDN, PCIe, Omni & Digi 192

ASUS Sabertooth, Intel i7 3820 3.6Ghz
32 GB 1600Mhz Corsair RAM
SSD 500GB Samsung
WIN 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2008, 05:31 PM
beyond beyond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Having same issue recently and I don't have the Massey plugins. Any other ideas as to why it's doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:39 PM
mercbenz mercbenz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Default

This happened to me when i moved my session and backup files. I still have sessions that wont open. Maybe a reinstall of pt would do the trick?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:13 PM
hookabruthaup hookabruthaup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 53
Default

Remove all plugins from DAE folder into unused, and then try and open your trouble sessions. if successful, start putting plugins back into your DAE and rebooting pro tools. I bet it's a bad plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:50 AM
thebadboy thebadboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 15
Default

Hey guys

I have a similar problem when I try to use the workspace browser - as soon as I click on the browser pro tools just disappears/crashes with no error or warning messages.

Been in touch with the tech support guys at digi but as of yet there is silence!

Why oh why
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while transl SNAPPER Pro Tools 9 6 02-11-2017 12:32 PM
DAE Error 35 and crashing on "Open Session" NGL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 08-11-2014 09:46 AM
Cannot open any session without crashing. ReachMusicProductions Pro Tools 11 12 10-02-2013 12:59 PM
Pro Tools crashing every time I open a new session Ryan Butler macOS 25 10-12-2012 03:06 PM
Pro Tools 8 crashing when I try to open a session or start a new session AbstractHabitat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-25-2012 05:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com