Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2018, 11:23 AM
Asheerkouli Asheerkouli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1
Default Need help with signal flow, Mic pre-HD I\O-HDX Card-DAW

Hi,

I need help with the basic signal flow,

I'm upgrading from a Steinberg UR44 to HDX system,

I don't understand how can I plug in my mic preamp ART MPII to the HD I\O,

Do I need to buy the HD I\O analog, or the Digital one ? what are the difference between them? is the signal coming out of my ART MPII considered Analog or Digital?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2018, 02:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: Need help with signal flow, Mic pre-HD I\O-HDX Card-DAW

There are 3 versions of the HD IO
Digital(DON'T buy this one)(this has digital ins and outs only)
8x8x8(this one has 8 analog IO and 8 digital IO)
16x16 analog(all analog IO)
OMNI(if you have not looked at this, you need to)

IIRC, the all-analog version cost a bit more, but its up to you to decide. In any case, you need:
1-a micorphone
2-a preamp(the ART MPA II) with analog outputs
3-an interface(HD IO with some analog inputs)
4-DB25 cable that fans out to XLR or TRS(from the preamp outputs)
5-Mini-Digilink cable(to connect the IO box to the HDX card
6-DB25 cable to xlr or TRS for outputs to studio monitors and/or headphones
7-HD software WITH a Digilink license

Back to the OMNI for a moment. It connects to the HDX card with the same Mini-Digilink cable as with the HD IO, but its a different beast. The HD IO is all line-level ins and outs(16 total). The OMNI has on-board mic preamps(which are quite good) and several other ins/outs(line level, SPDIF, Lightpipe). So, if you only need a few ins and outs(8 of each, total), the OMNI is less money
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal flow alexford67 Pro Tools 10 4 05-17-2012 10:38 AM
Signal Flow Questions scab666h8su Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 11-30-2011 08:18 AM
Signal Flow? nate9 ICON & C|24 2 01-27-2009 07:46 AM
Signal Flow Question jtrentes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-12-2006 07:24 PM
signal flow iamsaved General Discussion 5 01-31-2006 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com