Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:38 PM
Biz Audio Biz Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Mac user. MBox. ProToolsLe. iBook G3 500mhz.
I create 40 60 second spots for radio in the course of 3.5 hours for emailing to radio stations.

Having to bounce in real time to mp3 format is adding a minute/20 seconds to each one. Added up this means an extra hour of work and is crunching deadlines.

Is there a faster way to do this? I know other software (Cubase) masters to a file format in 15 seconds. Is there an option using my ProTools.

I either find a way with ProTools LE, use different software, or lose a decent account.

A.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:13 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Quote:
Is there an option using my ProTools.

Nope. You will have to use other software.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:49 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Quote:
Is there a faster way to do this?
Yes.

But nothing more than 2 tracks.

Ctrl+Shift+K will open up the 'Export Selected As Files' window.

Totally non-realtime offline bounce and fast but doesnt work on more than 2 tracks.

Not many people are aware of this. Including the famous Mr. spkguitar

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:15 AM
Biz Audio Biz Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Perfect, Shan! That did it. I don't need to export more than 2 tracks, so your suggestion nailed it. I owe you a cup of coffee.

By the way, being a mac user, the Ctrl+Shift+K didn't work...so I did Cmnd+Shift+K, and that did it.

Well done. Great tip!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2005, 01:18 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Quote:
Perfect, Shan! That did it. I don't need to export more than 2 tracks, so your suggestion nailed it. I owe you a cup of coffee.

By the way, being a mac user, the Ctrl+Shift+K didn't work...so I did Cmnd+Shift+K, and that did it.

Well done. Great tip!
Great to hear. Dont forget though that if you have any processing on your stereo master fader or insets on tracks that those will NOT be included in your bounce. Only what you selected.

By the way I dont drink coffee But thanks for the offer. But I do need some great sounding vocal talent for VO work. And cheap. I wouldnt mind hearing some of your radio spots. Shoot me an email. You dont have an email address in your profile.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2005, 01:43 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Quote:
Not many people are aware of this. Including the famous Mr. spkguitar

To clarify, I was aware of it, but usually do not consider it a viable solution because of the exclusions you just mentioned.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2005, 03:12 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Quote:
To clarify, I was aware of it, but usually do not consider it a viable solution because of the exclusions you just mentioned.
I know bro Just a friendly poke at ya.

Ive noticed that the only ones who have really used it over the years are the radio guys. Or I wouldnt even bothered to mention it myself.

By the way, the pepsi spew from yesterday still burns the nostrils.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2005, 08:22 AM
Eless Eless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brewer, ME USA
Posts: 141
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

Is there any quality loss bouncing this way?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:51 PM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: Can I bounce to mp3 faster than real time??

no quality loss - but it is different as these geezers sed!

It may well sound different as any plugin's such as compression or fader moves won't be used....

I did some versioning on PT- and if it's just the tags u want to change on the end then - make one master mix BUT with out the end tags.

U can then just mix the last 5 secs ( if that's how long your tags are) - bounce those different ends out and marry them to the body... ( consolidate the clips shift option 3 - on a mac) then export that bite...

man wouldn't a faster than realtime bounce be nice.....

Can't believe all my other gear ( live DP reason) can bounce to disk faster than a $10,000 Tedium system?

hehe realtime real -T-D-M!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did PT9 Add Faster than Real-Time Render/Mixdown? jccrtv Pro Tools 9 4 11-05-2010 09:56 AM
M powered faster than real time bounce? rickyshand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-31-2005 06:12 PM
Digital transfer from MD faster than real-time neil_mcdermott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-01-2004 11:19 AM
Digital transfer from MD faster than real-time neil_mcdermott Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-01-2004 08:34 AM
Transfer a 'minidisk' into the computer faster than 'real-time'? GuitarEasley General Discussion 2 06-24-2002 01:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com