Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2019, 11:46 AM
grant howarth grant howarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: calgary
Posts: 20
Default playlists newest on top

In previous versions of protools when duplicating or creating a new playlist it would put the current play list at the top of the list. (at least after you opened the playlists for the first time that session). On the latest versions of protools it seems it always puts the latest playlist at the very bottom of the list. Seems very counter intuitive to me especially when you have many playlists. Is there an option to have it put the newest at the top and not the bottom? Thanks in advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2019, 12:29 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,683
Default Re: playlists newest on top

always name your 1st playlist .01 ... then they will populate .02, .03, .04 .. etc ..

as far as after the fact .. well ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:19 PM
grant howarth grant howarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: calgary
Posts: 20
Default Re: playlists newest on top

its adds the .01 .02 by default but that doesn't change the fact that it puts latest play list at the bottom of the list. Sure would be nice to be able to change the order so that its the same as it used to be. Its a frustrating change to my work flow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,988
Default Re: playlists newest on top

Quote:
Originally Posted by grant howarth View Post
its adds the .01 .02 by default but that doesn't change the fact that it puts latest play list at the bottom of the list. Sure would be nice to be able to change the order so that its the same as it used to be. Its a frustrating change to my work flow.
Doesn't here. Newest goes at top. Same as it always was. Newest at top and then when you increment, that one goes to the bottom and the now "newest" is at top.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2019, 08:09 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: playlists newest on top

Not sure you're understanding the OP's post: Of course your current *working* playlist is always topmost, but regarding underlying playlists: Behavior changed around 2018.something; it used to be if playlist view was open and you created a new playlist they would order from newest to oldest vertically, BUT if you had playlist view closed (i.e. anything but playlist view) new playlists would order oldest to newest vertically - this was a disaster.

Somewhere in the mid PT2018.xx cycle Avid "fixed" it and made it so PT *always* orders most recent at the bottom of the playllst view. At least it's consistent now, and you don't end up with a pile of out-of-order playlists if you open and close playlist view while recording, but personally I wish it were the other way around, and I agree that it would *REALLY* be nice if you could sort playlists oldest to newest *or* newest to oldest on command - I've asked for this many times but I don't imagine we'll ever see it.

For those of us who might have hundreds of playlists and need to quickly access say, playlist .10 and then playlist .140, selectable sort order would be most convenient.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2019, 01:10 PM
grant howarth grant howarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: calgary
Posts: 20
Default Re: playlists newest on top

thank you for clarifying my inquiry. You said it 100%. Like you it makes way more sense to me to have the last saved playlists added to the top of the list. Im way more likely to pull a vocal take from the last few takes and scrolling to the bottom really changes the work flow. I was hoping there was a toggle that i just couldn't find to swap the sort order but i guess there isn't. Hopefully we will see it in the future.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to automatically expand playlists that are recorded using loop to new playlists ZdonTheRapper Pro Tools 12 4 03-17-2018 09:46 AM
Is 10.5.5 okay for the newest PT HD? Dopamine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-29-2008 03:47 PM
G5 1.6/ 1.8 or Newest G4 nmiller79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-10-2006 07:38 AM
Newest Mix antiphase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2004 07:21 PM
newest g4's Tal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-17-2002 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com